We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely English Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leather Bottle

The Leather Bottle
Reading Road | Hook, Mattingley, Hook RG27 8JU, England
+44 118 932 6371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Mattingley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $62
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Quick Bites, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely English Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely building.
Very friendly staff.
Great setting and gardens to eat and drink.
Excellent food.
Very good choice of local ales.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    71
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Got to stop here! Good food atmosphere and beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

On our way back from Stonehenge - we stopped in this village since a friend comes from Mattingly, and there are not many places to eat - it is a small village. We saw this place and it looked great from the outside, and it was great choice.friendly staff, good food, good beer, amazing history and the quintessential English Pub.

Would love to bottle this and take it back to the states, but then again it was opened as an inn, years before the US was even born!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Mattlingley is a small village outside of the London area. The Leather Bottle is definitely worth a trip out of the city.
The site was built in 1714 and has much history. The atmosphere inside is warm & welcoming. And the staff is cheery & quite accommodating.
If you're ever going to eat Pigeon, this is the place to do it. We also had the sage & butternut tortellini, fish & chips (the best on our trip) and a selection of ales.
Skip the tourist traps of London and get some GOOD food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really nice pub, rather fanciful menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Called in last week with a view to dining. The pub is a really nice place and the menu looked rather nice if you enjoy fine dining however my partner and I didn't really see anything that took our fancy so we went elsewhere. If you want unique dishes and don't have aversion to fruit in most dishes this is the place. It's a nice spot to call in for a drink nonetheless

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good pub grub...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Large group from work visited the restaurant. This was my second visit this year. Had a nice experience both visits. The restaurant has a very broad menu and comfortably delivers the selections...venturing outside the standard pub fare. The service is professional and attentive and handled a table of eight without noticeable error. The bar carries an excellent selection of liquors and beers, even satisfying a picky Kentucky bourbon drinker in our group. And, save room for the desserts!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leather Bottle also viewed

 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 

Been to The Leather Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leather Bottle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.