We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, reasonable and ideal for exploring Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venissa - Wine Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Venissa - Wine Resort to your Saves list
Venissa - Wine Resort
Fondamenta Santa Caterina 3, 30170 Mazzorbo, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazzorbo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Chic, reasonable and ideal for exploring Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The previous review I think is unfair. This is my second stay here and I can testify to the fact that this place is not a rip off, it is classy yet not expensive. It is not cheap either (it is not a B&B in the normal sense, it is elegant and chic. It is more like a very very good restaurant with six rooms, owned by a very reputable Italian wine maker based in Treviso, who have rescued a small vineyard adjacent to the hotel/restaurant. The vineyard specialises in a grape variety called Dorone which is endemic to Mazzorbo island in the Venetian lagoon and produces around 3000 bottles per year. I have tried the 2010 vintage and it was superb (costing around 180 euros; the 2011 vintage goes for 140 euros; both vintages in gorgeous bottles designed and produced by a well known Murano glass maker. The rooms are modern and quiet nice. The restaurant and some of the wines are expensive, which is normal for good wines, but the quality of both is very good. Some of their wines, like the Talento, is excellent yet reasonable at 38 euros a bottle. They obviously promote their other wines plus others from the Veneto region and the rest of Italy. I like this place. The boat into Venice proper leaves every 30 minutes, the island of Mazzorbo is beautiful and quiet, and the hotel is a gem. Breakfast is included and comes with fresh blood orange and lots of small bites.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the front as you have a view of the canal. They are not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very small ( 6 rooms) boutique hotel in a quiet island 35 minutes to Venice. Rooms are large and very clean with great view. Central AC. Great restaurant on premises, but wide variety of dining on nearby Burano island. Friendly, very helpful English speaking personnel. Breakfast is included in the price. Water bus stops next to the hotel. Will stop there again on my next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great hotel away from the chaos of the centre of venice during summer. Good rooms, great breakfast with super fresh ingredients and a fresh juicing machine. Best fine dining meal experienced yet for dinner. Wonderful place, highly recommended..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a wonderful way to get away from the crowds of Venice for a few days. We stayed in one of the first-floor (second-floor to North Americans) rooms overlooking the water. Our room was outfitted with a stylish minimalism -- the furniture was handsome, whitewashed wood, and the bedsheets, curtains, even the towels, were a rich, heavyweight linen. The hotel only has six rooms, and one of the pleasures here is enjoying the public spaces around the hotel in some privacy, since most tourists don't make their way to Mazzorbo. A walk through the vineyard and farm (watch for mosquitos during the summer, though!), an hour or two spent reading on the covered terrace behind the hotel, a five-minute stroll over to Burano. My only reason for withholding a star has to do with the breakfast, which is included as part of your stay, but which is itemized at 20 euros pp.; the service was always attentive and gracious, but the fruit was generally unripe -- something of a scandal for a hotel whose restaurant is Michelin-starred! Perhaps the bad weather this year has thrown the usual seasonal offerings off, but in this case, I think that something else, not hard pears and pale strawberries, ought to be offered instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This our fourth visit to Venice, illustrated another, darker aspect of life on the Veneto; la acqua alta. We stayed four nights at Venissa in the midst of a six night stay, during which time some areas across the lagoon recorded their highest ever water levels. We ended up as the only guests; the weather forcing others to cancel. At the height of the flood which saw 2' of water on the pavement immediately outside, the staff were superb; Rebecca and Franco keeping us constantly updated, with Paola and her brigade even preparing us the same outstanding breakfast to our room whilst helping to remove 2" of water from the entire ground floor. Due to the water issues we only got to sample Paola's cuisine once, but both the food and service were outstanding; Stefano ably guiding us through some very exacting courses, including crab which, when in season were completely edible, shells et al -delicious!

All in all a very enjoyable stay, made entirely by the warmth and sheer hard work of the staff, from the top down.

Grazie voi mi amici!

Room Tip: We stayed in Burano on the top floor, combining views of the sunrise over Burano with acres of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent the most amazing long weekend at the Venissa Hotel, Mazzorbo. The rooms are elegant, comfortable and immaculately clean. The staff are wonderful and the restaurant is just fantastic. Everything we ate, breakfasts and dinner, fantastic. Mazzorbo is such a lovely tranquil place. A short work over the bridge and you are in Burano, fantastic for a stroll, some shopping, a drink or to eat. A truly memorable and romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are lovely, but book early as there are only 6 rooms if you have a parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from staying here for two nights as part of a party of nine to celebrate a birthday and can really only say Wow Wow Wow. Everything was perfect. Paola and Franco did everything they possibly could to make sure our stay was the best it could possibly be. The surroundings are inspirational with manicured lawn, lavender, wooden decking and a sedum garden. We had the most delicious meals outside in the garden with views of the vineyards and the 13th century tower or under the shade of the 'dependance'. The rooms are large and airy with everything you need and with comfortable beds and fast wi-fi.
Don't hesitate to book this as there is no way that you won't absolutely love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - some overlook the garden and vineyard and others overlook the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzorbo
Hotel Il Ghebo
#1 of 18 in Cavallino-Treporti
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Antica Dogana
#5 of 18 in Cavallino-Treporti
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venissa - Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venissa - Wine Resort

Address: Fondamenta Santa Caterina 3, 30170 Mazzorbo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mazzorbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazzorbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Venissa - Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venissa - Wine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.