We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel but better to visit in 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bambara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bambara Hotel to your Saves list
Bambara Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bukkerdo setany 2-4, Felsotarkany 3324, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felsotarkany
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Fantastic hotel but better to visit in 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room, the staff, the food and the service is excellent! The african atmosphere is impressive with many family friendly ideas as well. The only problem is the permanent noise due to the expansion of the hotel. The noise of the constuctions starts at 8 am and ends 8 pm every day (on our first night it ended 11 pm!!!!!). Unfortunately this impairs the whole experience and you can not rest well... The expansion will be finished by the end of november (2013). It is sad that the hotel is unable to give clear information on its web page about how irritating the constructions can be... We only got information about this when we arrived! The compensation is a free night in 2014 (if you buy 2 nights the third is free). I think this is not enough considering how high priced the hotel during these works!

Anyway, I will go back in 2014 when I double checked they've finished the expansion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szabivan, Director of Sales at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear LindOsz,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Bambara Hotel and staying with us. I am glad that you were satisfied with our services.
We are happy to inform you that the expansions of the hotel have been finished in December 2013, giving the opportunity to our future guests to enjoy the innovations like the cave-spa, the terraced outdoor pools, the new sauna chambers or the relaxation capsules and the theme adventure park. The park lies in a spacious forest area, where there is possibility of having a nice walk or spend adventurous hours.

The Bambara Hotel awaits you in 2014!

Kind regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Szentendre
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The environment and the hotel were just beautiful with clean room and comfortable bed.
But the animations and the people using the pool could be heard during the day and in the evening.
Liked the meerkats very much.
However the staff was not 100% all right. Especially the receptionists at the front desk were pretty arrogant, which put our stay in a very bed frame.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A group of us enjoyed an evening meal here, it is an African themed hotel & restaurant and offered an interesting experience which we were not expecting to find in the area, it is 4-star and appeared to deserve it's rating, the food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We loved this hotel, suricatas lived in front of our room. It is a well-designed and built in african-style hotel. The Spa was very good with daily sauna-seans. The dinners were so delicious every evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is great for relaxation, situated in a national park. Therefore, the area is great for walks and being in nature. The offered treatments are great and the food delicious but the almost non of the personal speaks another language then Hungarian and this could be an obstacle. I had a friend with me who spoke Hungarian but without her I would have been lost. The buffet meals are described in Hungarian only and if you are looking for something the people are mostly not able to reply as they just do not understand. Some are just talking Hungarian to you and I had no clue what they where saying... Beside the language, all was great. The room was clean and everything was provided as needed. The saunas/spa were good. There is an area where children are not allowed to be able to relax and read a book in silence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Bambara with its African Mali style building and interior design offers a unique experience. The hotel is 10 minutes drive from the vivid historical town of Eger, the center of the famous wine region.
The building has a fascinating outer design and also the rooms bring excitement into your stay. I especially liked the sauna on the upper deck with a nice forest view.
The spa area offers comfortable deck chairs and a vast range of saunas. The pool is rather small but again nicely designed. The separated spa area for adults is very much welcome if you wish to experience perfect relaxation. The hotel has a strict policy regarding towel changes which can only be done twice during the day (one occasion is during dinner time). Guests need to find creative ways to avoid laying on wet towels the whole day. I found this very unpleasant and also unprofessionally handled by the hotel staff. They kept automatically replying that towels can only be changed between 11:30 and 12:30 even when I was approaching at noon… Unfortunately we quite often faced unprofessional staff that did not live up to the high standards of the hotel. The receptionist lady for instance delivered hostile gestures as one of my credit cards was declined upon first attempt. On the other hand we also met exceptionally kind waiters and other staff members, special compliments to them!
The cuisine is amazingly good especially during dinner time! Meerkats are very cute and surely the best marketing asset to attract families with children. :-)
We had great three days! Besides minor improvement opportunities Bambara is a perfect place to get some rest! Thank you for this unique experience, I will definitely recommend you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Both inside and outside of the hotel is great designed and constructed, the building's location is excellent. The unique style of interior trim is very classy. Calm, quiet and clean everywhere. The staff is highly courteous. The wellness area is very high quality, especially the "Dogon huts" for an unforgettable experience. Great idea within hotel "meerkat zoo" design. Although the servise prices a bit high, but not as high-cost. I can only recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felsotarkany
6.0 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 23 in Eger
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
#2 of 2 in Matrahaza
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa
Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa
#1 of 1 in Noszvaj
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#1 of 1 in Demjen
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambara Hotel

Address: Bukkerdo setany 2-4, Felsotarkany 3324, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Felsotarkany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felsotarkany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bambara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bambara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.