We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shenai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Shenai
78 yorktown road, Sandhurst GU47 9BT, England
01252 878 795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Sandhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really good but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Visiting family and been here a few times, service good but the Tara dal was disgusting, very watery and the lentils were burnt but overall very good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food (and just round the corner)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am swayed slightly by the fact I can walk here, but service is good, food is good and it is very popular for locals. They will tailor a dish to your own taste with no problem. and service is friendly but not 'in your face'. Will definitely be back ......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Keeps hubby happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recommended to us by a friend who lives round the corner and my husband loves it. Very friendly people and very accomodating if you want to change heat of a dish or something.

Always busy in the restaurant and the takeaway is always great too. My husband, who is very into his Indian cooking and eating says he would never go anywhere else given the choice whereas it's taken me a bit longer to get used to their tastes, i.e. their Bhajis are really spicey and most places we'd gone to before they weren't. Their rices are very fragant and I find can actually be off putting as they just smell like very strong curry powder but each to their own!

If you love Indian, try it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had booked a table for 8pm but didnt get seated until 9.30pm, there was little or no apology and the food was clearly rushed when it finally arrived.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great evening, great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Have been getting our takeaways from Shenai for about 2 years, but as our friends secured a babysitter we thought we'd "dine in" on Saturday night for a change. We were running 10 minutes late, so I rang ahead en route, the staff couldn't have been more helpful! It wasn't a problem at all, and the waiter remembered me when we did arrive, so at least their staff communicate with each other!!

Really nice decor following a refurb, with a comfy waiting area where you can have a drink if you are picking up your takeaway. The restaurant was packed, so we took that as a good sign of what was coming for dinner!!

We ordered poppadoms and pickles instead of a starter and the waiter only bought 4 instead of the 8 we ordered. After this little slip up the waiter was super-attentive and we couldn't fault the service for the rest of the evening. The menu offers all the usual a with a few new dishes my friends and I were keen to try, and we weren't disappointed! The duck jalfrezi was amazing as was the meat thali which offers a bit of everything. All in all we had poppadoms, 4 mains, 2 rices, 2 naan breads and a saag aloo side dish, along with a few beers for the boys and a bottle of prosecco for the girls and were pleasantly surprised by a very reasonable £85.00 bill.

Throughout our evening the staff were very attentive but not intrusive and gathered to say goodbye when we left. Think we'll be eating in from now on, as we all really enjoyed ourselves! Thanks guys at Shenai, your superb service made our evening!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shenai also viewed

Sandhurst, Berkshire
 
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Camberley, Surrey
 

Been to The Shenai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shenai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.