We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay just outside of Carcassonne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Palaja to your Saves list
Chateau de Palaja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rue Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Stratham, NH
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay just outside of Carcassonne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in the MIrepoix room. The room was spacious and there was a spacious shower and bathtub in the bathroom. Catherine was most helpful and found a secure place for us to store our bicycles. I think the service at this hotel will get better and better as Catherine wants to be sure her guests are happy. There is no elevator so that this is not a place to stay if you have difficulty getting yourself or your luggage upstairs. The wifi did not work in our room unless we balanced our laptop on the window ledge. However, the wifi was fine in the garden and reception areas. There is a shower in the sauna room which we used after a day of biking after we had checked out, as late check out was not available. There is no ice if you want to make yourself a cocktail, but the mini market in the commercial center sells ice. The mini fridge does not have a freezer, but Catherine stored our bag of ice in her freezer. We did not have breakfast as we prefer to buy our own yoghurt and get an early start. The pool area is meant for families so if you want a quiet place to read or sun, there are chairs and tables in front of reception. The Chateau had a very relaxed atmosphere which was perfect for us. We also had one of the best meals of our trip at S'Comme, the restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    62
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
160
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orvieto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely old building and nice gardens where you can take breakfast, read in the shade, swim in the pool, play pétanque. There's a small gym with bike, rower and stepper as well as a sauna. Nice conference room, bikes to hire. Breakfasts are great, there's a very good smart restaurant next door, a simpler pizzeria in the village or all the restuarants you could want in Carcassonne. What's not to like?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights, had a lovely room on the second floor, wifi worked perfectly, breakfast was nice and converted me back from tea to coffee. would we stay again and the answer is most definitely. perfectly situated for carcassonne, and infact we moved on and wished we had stayed at palaja

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The owners, Catherine and Eric, deserve a lot of praise for the energy and enthusiasm they have put into this place. They are helpful and friendly at all times and more than willing to help with any guidance they can provide, restaurants, places to visit etc.

The hotel provides breakfast, which is simple but more than adequate. Immediately adjoining the hotel is an excellent restaurant who by the way must provide the finest crepe suzette in France.

All in all a very pleasant experience, just nicely away from the hustle and bustle of Carcassonne.

Room Tip: The bedroom floors are wooden, so the ones on the top floor have an obvious advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

More of a large house than what I think of as a Chateau, but a lovely setting. We stayed in a junior suite, "Font Froid". I'd describe it as more of a large room with large ensuite than a suite, but would say the pictures on their website give a fair representation of the accommodation. It has 8 owners, and they spent 3.5 years renovating before opening 2 years ago. One of the owners seemed to do all the reception/guest work in our two nights there. She has good English and is very helpful with things to do in the area. Good, relaxing pool area with outstanding restaurant in a separate building next to the hotel, "S Comme". Strongly recommend you try it, was best food with outstanding service we had in France. Hotel has good breakfast and Wifi connection. If I had any negative it would be no English speaking channels on the TV, I like to see the news on BBC World, but maybe this is a good thing!

Room Tip: Don't think it matters, all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Thanks to the energy, enthusiasm and friendliness of Catherine and Eric Remy this lovely hotel has an exceptionally personal and welcoming atmosphere (to which their three lovely daughters also contribute). Breakfast was ample and delicious, and we appreciated being able to help ourselves to tea or coffee at any time. We stayed in the Alaric suite, which we found very comfortable, especially the bed. It is large and cool in hot weather, though rooms on the floor below have larger windows and are lighter. Catherine showed me several of the rooms and they are all very attractively decorated and comfortable. It was blissfully quiet at night and the calm gardens and pool area provided a peaceful haven to return to after busy days visiting the many interesting places in the area. The restaurant next door (S Comme) was excellent, providing a romantic setting for dinner outside.

Room Tip: In very hot weather rooms at the back and one with smaller windows (like the Alaric) are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, the owners are helpful and generous, our room was lovely and the bed was super comfortable. Would definitely recommend without any hesitation. We also ate in S Comme next door and had a beautiful meal, not too expensive. The small restaurant/ bar down the road was also very nice and friendly, would be good if you had kids with you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
#7 of 43 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 43 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pont Levis Hotel
Pont Levis Hotel
#4 of 43 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
2.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Address: 7 Rue Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne > Palaja
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Palaja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.