We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting, wine and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mudbrick Vineyard Restaurant

Mudbrick Vineyard Restaurant
Church Bay Road, Oneroa, Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1240, New Zealand
(09) 372-9050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Oneroa
Cuisines: Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing setting, wine and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful setting overlooking the vineyards and sea. The vegetarian platter was absolutely delicious-so many lovely flavours and colours.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    132
    49
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, shocking service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We took a day drip on New Year's Eve and made our first stop to the vineyard, which is a beautiful place but didn't seem to have the capability to cater for its own popularity.

Although there were tables available, we were told they were fully booked, this was a shame as each couple had about $800 each to wine and done throughout the afternoon. I'm not sure if this was because our partners were not wearing dresses or that we were in shirts and shorts, either way it was their loss.

After making our way onto a brick viewing area, we managed to sort ourselves out by moving tables and umbrellas to make some form of seated area, however it seemed a lot of hard work to get service or find someone who actually wanted to serve us! Although, when it came to paying up, we had masses of attention!!

Me and my partner had a bottle of the Sauvignion-Blanc, along with a sharing platter (both very good) which came to $160.

Would have been much better to have a meal there, as I'm sure more of the tasty "Sav" would have been consumed.

There was an Irish chap due to get married to a kiwi lady, they seemed like they were having lots of attention, great service and had their wedding meticulously planned. So if you are choosing to get your wedding here, please don't be put off by my review, I just wish their service was consistent between day-to-day guests and their VIP wedding guests. Also stunning views with great photo opportunities! Please check out my picture from the area where we eventually dined with the scenery and a mudbrick glass held up to be in with the background.

Great place, however very stuck up, poor service. Don't judge a book by its cover vineyards! Just because people have tattoos, doesn't mean that we don't have an education and have poorly paid jobs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must on Waiheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my partner here for a Xmas treat and it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Nothing is too much and the staff go the extra mile for you. Everything is so well presented and the flavours of the food were divine. The setting and atmosphere with all the twinkling lights is delightful. A must to try is the chocolate brûlée, it was delicious. this place will set you back a few pennies but is worth every cent and is one of those places to have say you have been to, at least once.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Memorable vineyard experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Mudbrick has amazing character in a beautiful setting. The wine and food were superb. The service lacked experience and confidence. The staff should be provided with wine tasting days so that they know their wine list. There was no one that knew the entire wine list which is such a shame given the quality of everything else. This is our only fault and the rest provided us with an experience that was amazing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
“incredible degustation dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

8 courses and delicious, views of the bay towards Auckland, excellent service. Requires a ferry ride from Auckland unless you stay on the Island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mudbrick Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Mudbrick Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mudbrick Vineyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.