We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Oyster Inn

The Oyster Inn
124 Ocean View Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9-372 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just 40 minutes from Auckland but a world away, The Oyster Inn is the perfect escape from Auckland, whether for just a night, a weekend or longer. The Inn features a large restaurant & bar, a beach boutique, a private event space three luxuriously simple guest rooms. Opened in 2012, The Oyster Inn has gained local and international attention, being featured on Travel & Leisure's 2013 IT List and Metro's Top 50 Restaurants. With a gorgeous but unpretentious interior by designer Katie Lockhart, The Oyster Inn has fast become one of the island's most popular restaurants.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service & atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is not fine dining - is a really new age/hip place to be on the island...great cocktails & the service is great. I would recommend this for breakfast, lunch or a casual style dinner. We enjoyed the experience there however being real foodies we we're let down in flavour on all of our dishes.

I had the duck breast which was well cooked & presented nicely, however it lacked flavour & substance. My partner had the Clam pasta, clams we're a good size & tasty, it was just the pasta side of the dish that let it down, again lacked some flavour.

Desert we tried the Feijoa & Pear crumble, was mainly Pear & couldn't really taste the Feijoa which was disappointing to me seeing I love them - again it was fairly bland & I was put off by the black which may have come off the cast iron dish it was cooked in...or it may have been the Feijoas changing colour as the waiter suggested....I had a funny taste in my mouth so was uncertain. The ice-cream we we're excited to try, Fig & Malt.... but again it was slightly bland in flavour & not creamy as expected.

This was just our experience - if you have heaps of time on Waiheke then give it a go, it may be different for you. If you just have one night then I'd say go for one of the Fine Dining options & experience Waiheke cuisine at it's finest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    99
    45
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We got the recommendation from the Chef Concierge of the Hilton Hotel and boy was it a good one. Waiheke island over all is a must. This beautiful restaurant is very interesting combo of fine dining and total cozyness! The owner guys, just gotta love them! They are friendly, easy to talk to, very helpful! I assume the restaurant is not really a family restaurant, but they took such a great care/concern of our little daughter. The following tip may not be suprising; try the oysters! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped at the Oyster Inn for a late-ish dinner & weren't disappointed.
Even arriving at 9pm the place was still humming but the service was fantastic. The staff were friendly & attentive & the food was delicious. Excellent value for money, we'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax88London, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for stopping in! We're so glad you had a good time. Hope to see you soon again! Cheers from Oyster Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wine tour wind down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We traveled to Waiheke Island for a wine tour and were recommended to Oyster Inn by the Te Whau winery after asking where we could have their wine for dinner. After several lack luster meal experiences in New Zealand, The Oyster Inn restored our faith in seafood dishes in the NZ area. We were welcomed by very friendly staff to a cozy and comfortable second floor restaurant with great views of the water. The evening turned a bit chilly, and one of the staff was thoughtful enough to find a jacket for me to wear while dinning al fresco.

My husband and I had the pleasure of meeting Andrew, one of the owners, and getting to know more about the history of the restaurant/inn while being treated to a view of orcas jumping around in the distance.

We both had the sea bass special that evening and it was absolutely wonderful. I would highly recommend trying this little gem out if you're in the area. Should we return to Waiheke (or even Auckland) we would definitely consider staying at the Inn as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax88London, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ruben, it was great to meet you both and we're glad you had a final meal with us before heading back home. Hope you may visit us again some day. All the best, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice place, food was over priced for what was on offer. The banana pudding was the best of the 3 courses I had. Better value across the road.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Inn also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oyster Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.