We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, tranquility and fish caught for us for dinner1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awatuna Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Awatuna Homestead to your Saves list
Awatuna Homestead
9 Stafford Road, Awatuna, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and fish caught for us for dinner1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A friend of mine from Japan and I stayed at the Homestead for one night near the beginning of a trip around the South Island. We had been travelling for hours and were very tired, neither of us speaking the other's language very well and a little traumatised by the recent earthquake events in Christchurch. Pauline and Hemi and their family welcomed us in, gave us the studio with two bedrooms, let us wander in their garden and then brought us a three course meal cooked to order - and including fish caught across the road in the wild seas hours earlier - just for us. After dinner we spent time with the family and learned about family history and the attractions of the area. We slept blissfully and woke ready for our next installment of hospitality - Pauline cooked us the most wonderful breakfast. There were so many things to choose from and it was all delicious. We didn't want to leave and managed to fit in a visit to the vegetable garden and the special garage with collectable cars, patted the dogs and eventually went on our way. We would recommend staying here and look forward to a repeat visit later this year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was one of the locations where we stayed on our New Zealand trip of 2011. As soon as we arrived here, we have been greeted very warm by Hemi, and a little later by Pauline. When one of the other reviewers said that they feel part of the family, than we can agree fully - that was how we felt welcomed here as well.
Pauline and Hemi, knowing that we had a very long drive getting here, even made sure we didn't had to go out anymore but they accommodated us with all we needed. The animals of the B&B are very gentle.

The room we had was a little small. The common lounge is nice, spacious and has some nice books - not the ones you find in every other place. We have been waken up at night by the crickets that started a concert,, but hey - that's part of the lovely nature you can stay here in.

If you travel the new zealand west coast, than this is sure one of the places to keep in mind to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here to break up our drive down the west coast. This is a beautiful spot located in a small town. The owners are very nice. They go out of there way to make sure that you are comfortable. When were arrived we were greeted by their two dogs and cat. Being an animal lover myself I was so excited after two weeks of travelling to go to someone's home and be greeted by their pets. It made me miss my own animals back home. The overall feel of this place is that you are guests in the hosts' home. We met their daughter when she took her house out for a ride. Only complaints, I felt the price was a little high for the accomodation/location. I don't want to deter people from staying here, but if you are driving around the entire south island as we did I would suggest if you are coming from Golden Bay you push on and drive to Franz Joseph area and stay for the night. There is more to do in that area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

The homestead only offers 4 rooms but all are beautifully furnished with taste of 1800's. Though the room is relatively small, it is very comfortable.

It's not difficult to arrive the place with a GPS. But if you don't, better ask the owner for detail directions beforehand.

We enjoy the stay there very much not only because of the comfortable room, but also the friendly owner, his cute doggies and also the decilious breakfast. I look forward to visit him again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Pauline and Hemi made us feel like we were friends of the family. We enjoyed Pauline's meals immensely and Hemi's local-lore stories. The rooms are small, but very clean and comfortable. And they have a hot tub, and after a day on a bike, that was much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castro1980
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Hemi and Paulina were wonderful hosts. The place was completely charming and breakfast was wonderful. They have a wonderful place and I would definitely recommend a stay here if traveling to the west coast. Only a 10 minute drive to Hokitika the location is perfect and peaceful. If you have the opportunity to stay for dinner, I would suggest doing so as this was the best meal (homemade) of our entire trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Hemi and Pauline are wonderful hosts and offer reasonably priced high quality accommodation. Their delightful house with its extremely comfortable and homely bedrooms has a lovely atmosphere, we were made to feel at home very quickly. In spite of the house being virtually brand-new, having been re-built after a large fire, it has the feel of an older property whilst offering the benefit of the new facilities. Loads of substantial timber everywhere gives the warm feel of a log cabin.
The delicious and hearty dinner was a real family affair as hosts and guests all sat around the big table sharing stories, with a mid-evening break to head outside to take in the truly spectacular sunset. What a great way to wile away an evening.
Hemi is a mine of information about nature, Maori culture, Morris cars and growing vegetables (I am sure plenty more that we didn’t get round to). Guided tours of the garden, maori storytelling, vintage car restoration and rides in his 1930’s Morris cars are amongst the options on offer. There is an enjoyable short walk down to the spectacular beach.
Pauline and Hemi gave the impression that they were genuinely enjoying having us in their home, that is a great feeling to get from your hosts. I was so sorry that we were only staying for one night. I have to confess that we only booked because we were looking for somewhere to break our journey between Lake Moeraki and Nelson. With the benefit of hindsight we should have stayed two nights, it was with regret that we had to depart shortly after the excellent breakfast because of the long drive ahead.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Awatuna Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatuna Homestead

Address: 9 Stafford Road, Awatuna, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Awatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Colonial-style Family Homestead since 1874, situated between Hokitika & Greymouth by the sea. Elegant, boutique lodging, set in park-like gardens. Superior ensuite rooms & 1 self-contained Apartment. Separate guest lounge, WiFi.Eco-conscious professional hosts. Organic produce grown for Homestead table. Maori cultural histories & storytelling. Guided beach walks. Outdoor Spa, 2 friendly dogs, vintage cars. Dinner by prior arrangement. 10 mins to Hokitika and lakes, shops and craftspeople. Glaciers/Punakaiki Rocks 2 hours from Homestead ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Awatuna Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatuna Homestead Hokitika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awatuna Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.