We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Travel Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly The Valley Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. I found the to be very nice and clean staff were very friendly, food was nice and rooms and ensuite were very spacious I wold definitly stay here again if I was in Killarney

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    85
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
99
87
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donabate, Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed in the Valley Suites hotel for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. Our children are 6, 4, and 2.
Our two year old has a milk and egg allergy, and the hotel was informed of this before we arrived. All we required was to receive advice on existing menu choices that were prepared without milk or egg. This hotel went one step further, asked what she would specifically eat for breakfast and dinner, and staff went locally and purchased her soya milk and yoghurt. They also considered her for a special Easter bunny treat.
We have stayed in hotels around Ireland and have never been catered for in this way when dealing with our daughter's allergy.
Nothing was too much for the staff of the Valley Suites. We ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious and staff were fantastic. The kids menu offered a good choice and our girls were made feel very welcome.
The hotel rooms were a good size. We didn't opt for a suite, however it looks like an option for us in the future.
We will definitely be back with service like this.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed for long weekend with Titans Basketball Group in this lovely hotel, fab mountain views from our room. Staff were extremely friendly, nothing was any trouble. Great value for money. Bedroom very comfortable and spacious, great power shower. Overall this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I regularly travel to Ireland for both business and pleasure. When in Ireland most of my time is spend in beautiful Killarney. Without fail I always stay at the Valley Suites Hotel in Fossa Killarney. It provides excellent accommodation and the management and staff are just superb. The Valley Suites Hotel is located in a picturesque area of Killarney. It is but a short distance from the town center and has a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains and the Killarney Lakes. It is an ideal location for touring and a perfect home base for the avid golfer
The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the management will do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.
This is an ideal place to stay wheather on business or pleasure and is a great find.

Pat Moynihan, ABC Television,USA.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

The complex is located at Fossa, about 2 miles from Killarney Town Centre and close to the golf club. The Suites are very spacious, bright and clean. The staff were very friendly and most helpful with any requirements. It is a venue that we would highly recommend for families and is great value for money. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Unfortunately, my wife and I stayed at the Valley Suites for two nights during our stay in Killarney early this December. Killarney was beautiful, and we absolutely loved this side of Ireland compared to the rest. The only thing we didn't like about Killarney was our stay at the Valley Suites. Couple of things made our stay almost unbearable. First was our room. Instead of having a queen size bed, we had two doubles that were pushed together with a queen size sheet over them. This wouldn't have been that bad except for the fact that the two mattresses were different heights. So there was a ledge in the middle of our bed. Second, was the smell. You can tell a lot about a hotel by the smell. The Valley Suites smelled musty and moldy. I know it had been raining a lot prior to our arrival but the smell was really bad. The whole room felt cheap, from the towels to the bedspread, to the little t.v. We originally had planned to stay only one night, but decided in the morning that we should stay a second night to enjoy Killarney more. I asked them at the front desk if us staying another night would be a problem. They said it wouldn't and that they'd be expecting us that night. But when we returned that night, we found that our electronic keys didn't work. We went back down to the lobby; no one was there, so we went to the bartender to ask for help. She re-issued our keys, and we went back up again to try our keys. Again they didn't work. This process went on three times... before the bartender had to leave the bar and follow us up to our rooms. After half an hour it got sorted out... (and it wasn't because we didn't know how to use our keys!) There was an obvious miscommunication about our second stay. And lastly, probably the most difficult part for me, was the incredible let down I felt when I first entered the lobby. Supposdedly this was a four star hotel.... It couldn't be any farther from that. I made the decision to stay at the Valley Suites based on that rating and the pictures of the hotel from this website. The pictures were all for show. If your from America, the best comparison I could make for this hotel would be to a really bad Motel 6. If that's what your looking for... fine. But if you want a four star, you should proably look into other hotels in the area. Our stay was inexpensive, which was a plus, but we got exactly what we payed for.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaKillarney, Operations Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2010
We would like to express our disappointment with the above reviewers comments on their experience at The Valley Suites. Guest feedback, both positive and negative, is very important to us. We find it unfortunate that this reviewer did not contact a member of our management team to express her dissatisfaction with the hotel at any point during their stay, whereon we would have done our utmost to rectify the situation immediately.

Norma Casey
Operations Manager
The Valley Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana, Sth Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The Valley Suites Hotel can be found in a relatively scenic location adjacent to the Killarney Lakes (and busy N72), just a 3 or 4 minute drive from the centre of town.
The suites were large & very clean thoughout although the kitchen was short on cooking utensils. The best views of the lakes & mountains are from the high rooms facing the N72.
The rooms were generally quiet & smoke free which was to expectation. The only issue that arose could have been avoided if management were more dicisive with their descision to continue trading. We were advised by email that our booking would be transferred to a sister property in Killarney due to an early seasonal closure. As we were not satisfied with the sister property, I contacted reservations to request a full refund on our pre-payed reservation. The friendly reservation clerk informed me that another decision had since been made by management to stay open later into the season.
The friendly check in staff did a great job in correcting the mistakes of others. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#36 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#30 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly The Valley Suites)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travel Inn offers quality accommodation at superb hotel prices. Located on the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, The Travel Inn is within walking distance of Killarney Golf Club and Killarney Riding Stables. Stay at The Travel Inn and enjoy a warm welcome, comfy beds, great food in our on-site restaurant and bar and super low prices. The charming, spacious rooms have comfy beds, luxurious bathrooms and panoramic views of Killarney’s landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Killarney
Valley Hotel Killarney
The Valley Hotel
Valley Suites Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.