We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Loch Lein Country House to your Saves list
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wine & WiFi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We spent 10 days driving around Ireland and this was by far the best place we stayed. Paul and Annette made the two nights we planned to stay there SO nice that we decided to stay another! The location is an easy drive to Killarney and a great base for checking out all that the Ring of Kerry, Gap of Dunloe, and Dingle have to offer. We stayed in two oversized family rooms that slept 3 -4 each and were well decorated and comfortable. Paul, Annette, and their staff cater to your every need - from making you a decadent breakfast to acting as an extremely knowledgeable tour guide. This place is a MUST!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
166
368
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We planned a week touring around Ireland to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and were looking for somewhere to spend the special night. We wanted a quiet and romantic hideaway and after checking on Trip Advisor we decided on Loch Lein.
We were so glad we did, the setting was idyllic with wonderful views across the lake to the mountains beyond. Paul and Annette made us feel so at home with numerous offers of tea and coffee whenever we were sat in the lounge and advice on where to go and what to see in the area, they really seem to have got the true meaning of the legendary "Irish hospitality". Our room was huge and beautifully furnished and yet still felt cosy. We will certainly be going back to Loch Lein and this time for a longer visit. It is ideally situated for all the wonderful sites of the west coast, including the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsular.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just returned from a 10 driving holiday in Ireland and Loch Lein was by far the highlight of our stay. From start to finish Paul, Annette and their staff could not do enough for us. It was the perfect place to wind down after a full day of driving. The views are outstanding, the service by far the best we received anywhere, the accommodations were beautiful, and absolutely spotless! My husband and I had dinner in the dining room the first night there and what a pleasant surprise! From the appetizer to the dessert it was the best!! The service was impeccable, everything was cooked to perfection! It was hands down the best meal we had in Ireland! The only regret we had was not dining a second time with them before we left. If I had to make any suggestions to those considering staying at Loch Lein it would be to make plans for the end of your trip and not the beginning, as Loch Lein will spoil you for any place else!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We arrived at Loch Lein Country House after a long drive from Galway. We could not have been more thrilled with the place! The views are absolutely breathtaking, the hospitality incredible, the food excellent, and our room was to die for. We so enjoyed ourselves that we stayed an extra night - I would have loved to spend a week there were it not for the many places we planned to see in Ireland.

We use Tripadvisor regularly and know that sometimes reviews can hype up some places that aren't that great (and likewise criticize others unnecessarily), but we cannot say enough great things about our experience at this hotel. Highly recommend it, and also highly recommend visiting Killarney National Park. Really an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We (my grandson and I) arrived at Loch Lein Country House a couple hours prior to check in time. We were pleasantly greeted by Annette who served coffee and cookies while our room was being prepared. Loch Lein is in a beautiful setting and our spacious room (full size and twin beds) had a beautiful lake and mountain view. Paul came in and talked to grandson about golf since golfing had been arranged for grandson. We spent two nights here; breakfast was delicious. Paul and Annette gave us suggestions on things to do and see so we kept busy. Loch Lein was a distance from the sights we saw and the things we did so it would be difficult to get around without a rental car which we had. I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed at six different hotels during our visit to Ireland and weren't disappointed in any of them. However, Loch Lein would be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

If you are considering your wedding at the Loch Lein or even thinking of a short break, do not hesitate and book it - I promise you will not be dissapointed. Paul, Anette and all of their staff are second to none. The venue was perfect for our wedding of 50 guests and everyone of the party have been raving about the weekend. Based in London with work demands restricting us to visits we relied so much on our hosts and they triumphed in every department. The Loch Lein and their staff made our special day magical and from the moment we arrived until we had to leave we would not have changed anything! I cannot recommend the Loch Lein enough and cant wait to re visit which we will definitely be doing again and again - we are even talking about a 5 year reunion!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We're just back from a wonderful 7 days- stay there, the place is just great, so are the hosts ( and staff) , always caring, pleasant and helpful ( Paul helped us a lot with informations on which sites to see around); the atmosphere is friendly, warm and cosy and we felt at home; the hotel is quiet and has an amazing view on the Lake and mountains; a lovely breakfast is served in the bright and panoramic dining room..and we had a beautiful spacious room....We thoroughly enjoyed everything there!! Wish we could stay another few days but anyway, we'll definitively be back!
Annemarie and Joel, France

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lein Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.