We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Lein Country House to your Saves list
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We used a travel agent for this trip, and this was selected for us. I looked it up on TA and it sounded too good to be true. Here I sit writing this review, in the Loch Lein Country House on our second of two nights, telling you it is really that good. Family owned and operated "mini hotel" with a BnB feel, overlooking a beautiful lake. The owners and family members check you in. They serve your breakfast (delicious). They serve you dinner if you opt for it (OPT for it!!!). I walked into my hotel room and felt I was the first person getting to use this room. The bathroom was spotless and gorgeous. The room was beautiful and large with bay windows. Everything so clean. Staff so professional, attentive, and friendly, with one goal, to serve and make the stay uniquely special. Mission accomplished, I say. I'm not much of a betting man, but if I was, I would bet a bunch of money that this will be the accommodation we give the highest marks to. It is by far the best so far, and, we have three pretty special accommodations scheduled over our final 4 days in Ireland.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    31
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
181
395
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the spacious yet compact Loch Lein Country house. The hotel is a hiden gem in killarneys beautiful countryside. It is a credit to Annette and Paul to how they keep it running to such a high level. The one thing I will notch them down on is the manner to which one of their staff members treated me throughout my stay which was just a little common to a hotel of this class. Overall I did enjoy my stay and would recommend it to associates.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Loch Lein for one night during our summer holiday in Ireland. The hotel is tucked away from the main road but easy to locate and a just short jaunt into Kilarney. Loch Lein is a lovely hotel with a very personalised feel and welcome from the owners and staff. The owners, Paul & Annette are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and provided some great ideas for trips out in the local area. The rooms are large and comfortable and the lake view rooms are spectacular. It was lovely to sit in the room and look out of the huge window onto the beautiful calm lake vista. The food was superb ~ great steaks and delicious desserts.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a Lakeside view room - you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spacious rooms, great views, heart-warming breakfast and lovely staff. We were sad tl leave Doolin andvthe rolling countryside until we were shown our room at Loc Lein. Only wish we could stay longer. If we come back to Ireland, we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After a long day of driving and sightseeing it was so refreshing to arrive here. Check in by Annette was so carefree and welcoming. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Nothing is a problem for Paul and Annette and their breakfast and evening meals are a delight. Two other staff members should be mentioned as well for their caring service. Patrick and Gerard. Overall we found this place to be absolutely delightful and congratulate and thank Paul and Annette for the manner in which they looked after us during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My Mom and I are just finishing up a 3 week trip to Ireland and I can honestly say this was the nicest place we stayed. Paul and Annette have created the most perfect haven. The property sits in a very tranquil setting overlooking the beautiful lake. Rooms were spacious and spotless, afternoon tea was always available by gracious Gerard, after a long day of sightseeing and the breakfast was great. (Sorry we missed the dinner) Killarney was a stones throw away and the Gap of Dunloe just around the corner! The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right side of the building for the best views but could be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful property and location. Hosts were amazing and always available and eager to help with everything from getting you a drink, helping with the luggage or providing recommendations. Views of lake, islands and mountains were stunning. Great dinner but we didn't stay to check out breakfast as we slept in. Even though we were past the breakfast time however they still offered us breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House
Killeen House
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lein Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.