We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Lein Country House to your Saves list
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Best of Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Out of the six places that we stayed during our trip around Ireland, Loch Lein Country House was by far our favourite. Paul, Annette, and Gerard are all so warm and welcoming, they truly go the extra mile. They are full of hospitality and helpful gestures.

Our room had a lovely view of the lake, was very spacious, and included everything that we could want or need during our 3 night visit. Each day, coming back after a day's touring, it was pure pleasure to relax in the sitting area. Always a greeting and an offer of coffee, tea or a drink, It was the perfect spot to read the paper, plan the next day's tour, or just chat with the other guests and share stories of the day's activities - again with the lovely view of the lake! Loch Lein is perfectly private, quiet and relaxing, and intimate enough that you have an opportunity to meet the other guests on a level that you would not at a larger establishment (which is always fun for us when traveling).

Breakfast is absolutely terrific and we had dinner here 2 nights during our visit, it was truly exceptional.

So that my husband could enjoy the time around the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula (and take a break from driving) Annette arranged for Tom Palmer to take us around, ask for him if you need taxi service, he's a really lovely person to spend time with.

Loch Lein Country House is the perfect base for your visit to Southwestern Ireland. We would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
164
362
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A very helpful team, and very nice accommodation. Well located for the Ring of Kerry, and the many local sights - Gap of Dunloe, Muckrosse House, and other attractions around Loch Lein. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Probably wont get a better setting for a holiday- great view of the lakes, well maintained is an under statement for the property. Annette and Paul are best when it comes to hospitality. Great breakfast selection and they can prepare practically everything on special requests. Rooms overlooking the lakes have stunning views and the triple ones are actually very spacious. It has a lovely living room (interiors are very tastefully done) where you can relax with afternoon tea/ evening drinks. Hosts are very helpful (and accurate) with recommendation on places to visit / eat. Worth the little bit of extra travel from killarney to stay here and prices are reasonable

Room Tip: Lake views room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were travelling with our daughter, who has been studying in Ireland, and had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Loch Lein for two nights. Paul, Annette and Gerard made us feel as though we were visiting friends, and provided excellent service which made our stay wonderful. The location is perfect, the views are just beautiful, breakfast was excellent, and the rooms and ambiance of the hotel superb! We all loved it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I have been travelling Europe for the last 5 months and have to say Loch Lein Country House is one of the most genuinely endearing and relaxing places I have been to. The staff's mindfulness and attention to detail, along with the quaint charm of the house itself make it far surpass anything the larger hotels have to offer, in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent a very nice night in the Loch Lein Country House.

The rooms are very large with terrific views of the loch. They're a bit old fashioned in design, but quite nice all the same. Waking up to the sight of trees and the lake was wonderful. The bathroom is big and well stocked, with heated towels, which are always nice. The beds were just OK - with overly firm pillows.

The rooms were very clean. Spotless.

The dinner menu looked terrific. Not cheap, at €40, but likely very good.

Our hosts were terrific. Incredibly welcoming and helpful, providing valuable information.

Breakfast was very well done. Attentive service and great food.

A word of caution - if you book here use the directions on their site and don't rely on Google maps. Google sent us to a residential house nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay in this country house hotel - from our welcome from the gentleman on reception to the time we checked out. We had a very large room and ensuite bathroom on the ground floor which looked out onto the gardens and the loch beyond. It was very well furnished with a large, luxurious bed and comfy chairs. The only complaint was that the weather was warm while we were there and we couldn't open the window very far to let some air in. All the public areas were beautifully furnished with lots of comfortable seating. The owners were friendly and worked very hard to ensure everything ran smoothly. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a dining room with beautiful views out to the loch. The owners were very happy to give tips as to what to do with our time and where to eat and seemed to really know and love the area. We ate in the hotel one evening and had an enjoyable meal. We will definitely stay here again if we return to this part of Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lein Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.