We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loch Lein Country House to your Saves list
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

4 Aussies stayed june 2013 .Found this to be a wonderful friendly place to stay .The hosts were friendly and helpful re things to do etc.The dining room was excellent .The whole ambience of the property was wonderful.We would not hesitate to stay again.If we could make one small critiscism is the sign is a bit difficult to see on the road

Room Tip: We had a room on floor one overlooking the lake .It was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
164
362
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were only four days into our 16 day tour of southern Ireland when we checked into the Loch Lein. From the moment we were warmly greeted in the parking lot, we were shown the utmost in personal attention, service and care. Our son had broken his collar bone just shortly before our trip began, so our needs were great and our schedules a bit off. But Paul and Annette, as well as all of the staff at the Country House, did their best to make us as comfortable as possible, accommodating us with personal care and service far beyond anything we could have hoped or asked for! The beautiful grounds (with a wonderful short hike to the magnificent Loch Lein), the food (INCREDIBLE!--and ONLY available to the guests of the House), the rooms (all with huge picture windows that face the gardens and lake), the vast knowledge of the regions from the staff and owners made this truly the highlight of our vacation. Thank you, Loch Lein, for making the potentially most difficult part of our journey the most memorable, relaxing and delightful part instead. We will return and make our stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Loch Lein Country House was a wonderful property. The view was spectacular and the settling lovely. The service was exceptional. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. We highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Everything about this guest house is top-notch. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with lots of windows overlooking the green hotel gardens. Every bit of Loch Lein has been perfectly maintained, and the small staff gave our group of hikers a warm Irish welcome. The restaurant offers a varied and beautifully presented menu, including at breakfast. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, only for longer than three nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Set on the shore of a serene lake right outside of Killarney, this impeccably run, beautifully maintained Manor House was an oasis at the end of two days' travel in the Killarney region. The staff caters to every need and does so with warm, Irish charm. The room was five-star comfortable - large with windows looking out at the stunning grounds.
Breakfast is included and can be ordered from a menu, but the dinner is especially worth noting. For a 40 Euro fixed price, you will have an unforgettable meal while looking out at the same bucolic setting.
Staying in the Loch Lein Country House was one of the highlights of our week in Ireland and caused us to think that maybe Manor Houses was the way to go all along!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Absolutely perfect in every respect! It has taken us 4 years to get the opportunity to return to Loch Lein (it is long way from Australia!) and we were certainly not disappointed. Everything about Loch Lein Country House is perfect, the location, the view, the room, the lounge and bar, the breakfast, and certainly the hosts. Paul, Annette and Gerald are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The last time I reviewed Loch Lein I said that I thought it was the best place that I had ever stayed. My opinion has not changed (and we spend 4 weeks travelling each year so we have stayed in a lot of places in a number of countries).
In summary, I cannot recommend Loch Lein highly enough, an absolutely perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights in the Loch Lein Country House. From the friendly welcome with the offer to take our bags to the room, right through to the helpful advice about the next leg of our journey, everything was of a very high standard.

Our room was spacious, and beautifully decorated, with large bay windows looking out over the Loch. There was a sense of tranquility in the surroundings, though just a couple of kilometres from the tourist crowds of Killarney.

The cosy bar area and drawing room were well laid out and enabled friendly chatter with other guests who has come from around the globe and with the staff who were most hospitable.

Meals were delicious, though the wine list could have had more discerning choices. We enjoyed the varied options for the home-cooked breakfast.

All in all, we has a wonderful two-day stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lein Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.