We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Loch Lein Country House to your Saves list
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wine & WiFi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight on the 15th April. It was the first night they re-opened after winter and we were the only guests. It was cold, windy and rainy but that didn't stop Paul from coming out to our car and collecting our luggage. Both he and Annette were very welcoming and wonderful hosts. Paul helped us with our itinerary for the next day and offered suggestions for places in town for dinner that evening. The next day was sunny and bright and the view from our room the lake was beautiful. The breakfast they put on for the two of us was amazing! Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
166
368
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is the #1 hotel on trip advisor for a reason, everything about our stay was perfect. We stayed solely on the trip advisor reviews, and it paid off. When we pulled up to the hotel, we arrived late after a drive from Waterford through the mountains of Macroom (which was also amazing) and Paul greeted us with open arms. He was genuinely interested in our trip and us. We were in Room 11, which was right over the entrance and was so picture perfect it is hard to describe. It was very large with a large bed, sitting area, and plenty of room for your luggage. The bathroom had a seperate tub and shower, which I loved. The room was spotless and really comfy and homey. Breakfast was also fantastic. You had a cold buffett and then could choose from a menu with eggs, waffles, etc. Everything was perfect. We hit the pubs in town, so cannot comment on dinner, but the dining room was also full, so it must be wonderful like everything else. We explored the Ring of Kerry on our second day and when we came back late again and the young gentlemen who meet us was also interested in our day and always offered tea or coffee upon arrival. Our room had 2 over sized dormer windows that overlooked a beautiful pasture and moutain range. It was so quiet and peaceful, we slept better than we ever have in any hotel ever before! It was awesome!

The room also had an ironing board and hair dryer, if that is helpful.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, you must stay here because it will make your trip to Ireland. Annette and Paul were wonderful hosts and we were really sad to leave, thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived and Gerard came out to greet us and take our luggage, we felt embraced in the quiet and lovely grace that is Loch Lein House. Annette and Paul are warm and gifted hosts. The view of the lake and the mountains is so restful, and could be seen from our room as well as the parlor and dinning room. The interior is beautiful and welcoming and impeccably cared for. Beautiful grounds as well. The food was delicious - both for breakfast and dinner. (Dinner is available on some evenings, if there are enough guest reservations.). They had just installed wifi in the rooms. Paul is very knowledgable about the whole area and gave us wonderful suggestions for our explorations in the Killarney area. We look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The moment we were greeted at our car with welcoming wishes we knew our stay at this country house was going to be special. The hotel itself is understated elegance, from the quality of the room to the lounge area, and the dining room. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and took great care of all of our needs. From our room, we enjoyed a view of the Loch that was just breath-taking and a pure joy to wake up to. We also enjoyed dining here as the food was delicious and the breakfast were equally as good. I enjoyed the best omelet EVER! I must admit that the highlight of our stay was being blessed to view God's rainbow stretching across the Loch. It was a sight to behold! Loch Lein Country House is a must visit... you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved staying at the Loch Lein Country House. It was beautiful, quiet, peaceful. We had a room with a Lake view. Paul and Annette were just the perfect hosts. They helped us figure out our itinerary every day. We will definite head back there again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Loch Lein Country house in Killarney for 2 nights. We were immediately impressed with the warm welcome and the stunning view from our room.
Our hosts couldn't do enough for us in terms of information and service. We particularly enjoyed the humour that accompanied the advice on places to visit and local history. This was one of our favourite places that we stayed in during our month away in the UK. We intend to make our way back for a longer stay to this exceptionally beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Loch Lein Country House for two nights while exploring the ring of kerry. This bed and breakfast is one of the best we have stayed at. The service was exceptional, the rooms were great - super cozy and felt right at home. The breakfast each morning was exceptional, plenty of parking if you have rented a car. Both Anette and Kevin were so friendly and helpful! Highly Recommended if you are in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lein Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.