We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy return to Loch Lein...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Lein Country House to your Saves list
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A happy return to Loch Lein...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I revisited Lochlein Country House for a family celebration this year and once again it did not disappoint.The location is idyllic, close to the banks of the lower Lakes of Killarney and its stunning backdrop of the Macgillycuddy Reeks, we were fortunate with the weather which showed the lakes at their best, a view that's hard to beat and steeped in fabulous tales of Irish folklore too (see if you can find Tír na n-Óg, the Land of Eternal Youth, it's close by they say!)
We found the hotel perfect for a peaceful relaxing stay or small gatherings like ours, probably more convenient for those who have a car as it's a couple of miles outside town. Everything was great from start to finish. If you’re a neat freak like me you’ll be happy to hear that the rooms are spotless, you will honestly feel like no one has stayed there before. And breakfast is a wonderful array of hot or cold dishes so you won't go hungry. We recommend the full Irish breakfast which will set you up perfectly for an easy ramble or challenging hike round the area (or enjoy boating and tours of Muckross House in Killarney). We also enjoyed evening dining with our party and the food was exceptional, succulent meat, tender fish and fresh seasonal veg every time. As for the desserts? Well, there are no words... but we'll be back for more... The icing on the cake is hotel hosts Paul and Annette who are a fountain of local knowledge and always there when you need them but completely unobtrusive if you want to work away at your own pace. We'll certainly be back again to stay at this well-kept secret - sadly one that we feel compelled to share with you ;-)

Room Tip: Best rooms are upstairs above hall and drawing room, amazing lakeside views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
164
362
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I am ashamed to have taken so long to write this review after we had such an amazing stay at Loch Lein Country House last July. From the moment we arrived, the owners and staff were completely attentive, warm and welcoming. I am very happy to see Loch Lein is currently #1 in Killarney. This is no surprise as they looked after every detail perfectly. We were two couples traveling together and stayed four nights. It would have been very easy to stay forever. We stayed in a lakeview room and we definitely had an "OMG" moment upon entering the room. Luxurious, comfortable, beautiful and what a view! VERY nice bathroom, as well. Loch Lein is one of the most magical, serene places I have ever visited and I've done a lot of traveling. The views from the room, dining room and common areas are so peaceful and lovely. I would have to say it was a storybook setting. There was a young man working there, Sean (I'm sorry if I misspelled his name) who was so charming. Many thanks to the owner for giving us such great advice on things to do in the area. There's a lot to do around Killarney and in this part of Ireland. Wonderful location for day trips and close to Kate Kearney's Cottage -- a must! You will be very satisfied with your stay here as you can see from all the other positive reviews. I hope to return one day very soon.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms have gorgeous view! Very large room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had our wedding reception here in Aug - it was perfect! Ideal for small wedding party, we booked the hotel exclusively and all stayed the night before the wedding too. House is fantastic with beautiful spacious rooms(perfect for bride to get ready in) Food was delicious (chef can plan menu with you) Setting is lovely overlooking the lake(great for photos) All the staff are wonderful (Matthew deserves special mention for bar duty!) It really was a perfect, intimate, stress-free wedding. Paul and Annette(owners) were wonderful with helping us plan the wedding as well as the actual day, lovely friendly people. Loch Lein will always hold special memories of a wonderful day and I will certainly be back to visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I saved enough money for our dream honeymoon to Ireland after our 1 year anniversary went by. We stayed at the Loch Lein House for 3 nights and it was perfect! We woke up to a beautiful view every morning and with a lovely breakfast and great Irish cheer. At night we were able to relax by a fire and read while drinking wine and planning our next day trip. The family was soooo helpful and offered us great advice as to what to do for the day. I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend this hidden gem to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our favorite place that we stayed at in Ireland. It is called a country house, but it really feels more like a hotel. The rooms are very luxurious - as are the bathrooms. The public spaces are so warm and elegant. We loved the library/den with free wireless and a gorgeous view of Loch Lein and the mountains in the back. The view is stunning day and night. As others have noted, the hospitality here is exceptional. Paul, Annette, and Sean all took care of us whether through great recommendations and reservations, use of umbrellas, afternoon tea or ice in the middle of the night. At our arrival, Paul met us at the door and took our bags to the room and within a few minutes Annette brought us tea and biscuits. The made to order breakfasts were delicious and service and hospitality were exceptional. The location is to die far. I would highly recommend trading being downtown for the storybook setting of being right on Loch Lein. It is an amazing place and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Killarney.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a lake view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our VBT Walking Trip experience, and we were delighted with our room, the accommodating hotel staff, and the location. Everything about this place was superlative. Our room was very large, modern, well-appointed, and spotlessly clean. Paul and Annette went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The food in the dining room was excellent also. The only suggestion that I have for improving the hotel is to add wi-fi access to the rooms. We were surprised that we had to go to the hotel lobby to use the wi-fi there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were searching for that real Irish experience of wonderfully warm hospitality and Paul and Annette delivered it. We felt right at home, even down to doing some washing for us after a 2 weeks on the road. Loch Lein was a wonderful experience for us all. The location and views are very good being close to the Loch and only a short drive to Killarney. We had a large room which was perfect for our family (double bed and three singles). Sean looked after us at Breakfast which had plenty of choices and was very tasty. He also made a fine cuppa of an afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lein Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.