We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and Luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Europe Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil and Luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My mom fell in love with the property the second we stepped out of the car. The hotel is a blend of modern, clean lines with rich colors on the interior. The receptionist Patrick was downright adorable. Very knowledgeable about day trips and other excursions.

However, I was some what unimpressed with my spa experience. When I had my massage, the woman was very harsh and applied far to much pressure. I awoke the next day with a sore back! The spa facilities were very lovely though. I especially enjoyed the tranquilty pool.

Room Tip: rooms above the 3rd floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    112
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
137
408
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Relaxing on our oversized balcony, enjoying views of the lake, sun rises, sun sets and wildlife. A super home base for day trips to challenging, nearby golf courses like Tralee and Waterville. Hotel staff is very accommodating. The hotel design and construction is second to none. Every room is sold but we feel privacy and pampering. We also had a mishap with our rental car -- hotel was very helpful.

Room Tip: Lake view Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed two nights the past weekend and when you drive up you don't realise how special it is inside. The lobby is just breathtaking with the amaxing view of the lake. Our lake view room was lovely. There are two bars, one really modern (and as my boyfriend described it "girlie") and one lounge bar which is old country style that had live Irish music (something I would normally avoid however they weren't intrusive or loud just lovely as background). We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening - the food was tastey. The staff are as you'd expect in a 5* resort - professional and very good at their job, however still laid back that you can have a laugh with them and a joke which is important I think.

We never left the resort on Saturday there was that much to do. We ate breakfast which was really impressive, walked the gardens and down to the lake, played tennis, went on a horse trek, had lunch outside looking at the view, then finished in the spa. I was incredibly relaxed leaving the spa. It's just heaven.

All in all its a beautiful part of the country and staying in this beautuful hotel just made the weekend everything we wanted it to be.

Room Tip: Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Northern ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is simply one of the best hotels you will find anywhere. I have been staying in this wonderful property since 1979 and it gets better and better every year.
The scenery, even on a 'soft' Irish day is incomparable.
The decor is classic contemporary.
The service is second to none.
Food is modern and professionally served.
The Spa, Fitness Center and swimming pool are 'state of the art.'
The Europe is the finest example of German ownership and Irish management that one will find anywhere.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First class all the way - our welcome was warm and friendly, the staff was knowledgable and helpful. Our rooms (two deluxe - one with king, one with two doubles - with extra bed in each) for our family of 6 were beautifully appointed and spacious. We opted for open windows and no balcony to allow for more interior space and we were not disappointed. Restaurants were top notch with delicious food and unparalleled views of Loch Lein. The pool areas are gorgeous, the spa was great and we all (kids aged 15, 12, 10 & 5) LOVED relaxing in the infinity pools after full days of sightseeing. The little swim-through door from the indoor to outdoor infinity pool is a great idea, and the adult saltwater pool and serenity area with steam and sauna was a lovely surprise! I would recommend this hotel to anyone; the library area looking out on the spectacular lake offered quiet seating areas and chess and none of us wanted to leave this wonderful place - definitely felt like we were on vacation! Complimentary 20 minute guided tours around the grounds by horseback (two horses) offered as well. Buffet bfast included in our room was fantastic; eggs made to order and delicious pastries, fruits and cereals. Can't say enough positive - we would go back!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a lake view - it was gorgeous - windows open for fresh air - we did request a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel having completed the ring of Kerry cycle, early breakfast provided on morning of cycle,spa and pool ideal recovery after cycle. The omlets for breakfast was freshly cooked and tasted delicious .The staff in hotel friendly and professional .Great location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for a romantic weekend., great value, lovely staff, Fab food Fab spa . Great get away place , book a lake view room , you will not be disappointed The weather was typical Ireland at it best , but even with the poor weather the View from our room was spectacular . Make the effort you will not be disappointed ' A real Gem - Cant wait to go back . .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Europe Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.