We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Europe Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at the Europe in August this year was a surprise birthday weekend. Hotel was lovely, room clean and staff helpful. Spa was very nice and had back massage which was fantastic. Food in restaurant was first class had the chateaubriand and was not disappointed. Downsides was the pool and outdoor pool area was swarming with children running around and dive bombing from the sides. Could not sit by the pool or even swim as the amount of horseplay going on. No staff or parents seemed to care so in the end we left as it was too wild in this respect it didn't have the feeling of a 5 star hotel it felt very budget hotel. It's a shame as it spoilt part of the weekend for us not being able to enjoy the facilities. Other downside for being a 5 star I would expect water to be provided every day not so on second day we asked for some and were charged €6 which was annoying as the weekend was far from cheap. Would recommend to others, star rating would have been higher if these issues had not occurred.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    105
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
127
374
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in the Europe Hotel for one night in May 2013 to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. To celebrate my wife had a spa treatment in the afternoon while I used the excellent gym facilities. My wife thought the spa area was luxurious with amazing view of the lake and the treatment was excellent. The gym was very quite at the time I went so I had full use of all the gym facilities (very good cardio, core and weights equipment). There are many dining options with excellent food and very friendly but professional service. The views of the lakes while dining are very relaxing and give one the feeling of getting away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. We have stayed in most of the higher rated 5 star hotels in Cork and Kerry and would definitely consider the Europe Hotel and Resort to be number one and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's hard to beat this hotel on any front, the view across the lakes is outstanding. The hot pool outside the spa area is so good you could spend hours in it no matter what the weather is doing. The restaurants, bars and lounging areas are beautifully decorated and great for spending a few hours. The Panorama restaurant is as good as any restaurant I've eaten in anywhere in Ireland or abroad.
Finally the staff, wonderfully led by manager David Cronin are the most polite and professional people I have had the pleasure to meet. This is truly one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed in, 5 Star luxury at the very best.
PS. Some people complain about having buffet breakfasts in 5 Star hotels but when you try the Europe I guarantee you will not beat this breakfast anywhere.

Room Tip: If you can afford the lake view rooms then go for it as the views from the balconies are outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely gorgeous! The views are exceptional. Our room was lovely and the grounds are very well maintained. Great restaurant - Brasserie - and bar (although the really beautiful restaurant & bar are for groups only apparently, but breakfast is served there). The staff is exceptional - as a matter of fact, we had rental car issues while there and the staff not only tried to help us out, but they also called our car rental company and arranged for a new vehicle for us. They really went above and beyond! Not too bad a drive into Killarney either. And Killarney is a great town! Thank you Europe Hotel for a fabulous visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Europe hotel is in a league of its own in terms of luxurious surroundings and service. This was our second visit and I'm very happy to report that it is extremely consistent and just as good over a year since we first stayed. The lake views are breath taking and the well appointed guest rooms make the most of the natural beauty. This hotel really is a superior 5 star and completely lives up to the expectations of the most discerning traveller. There is a good choice for dinner with both the bistro style dining and the formal restaurant. The food is excellent with a great selection of local produce and seafood. We were well looked after by Daniela in the restaurant. The Spa cafe offers great lunch choices with delicious light meals and salads. Breakfast is excellent with a wonderful choice including plenty of heathy options. All types of eggs including omlettes are made to order. Breakfast is served until 11 which is wonderful and conducive to rest and relaxation. The Espa Spa offers a great range of treatments and therapists Marie and Ann were excellent and ensured we got the most out of the spa experience. The pool area and facilities are outstanding and continually being cleaned and replenished with water, fresh towels etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are bright and airy. We availed of the turn down service offered by Kathleen. The only item lacking is air conditioning and it was too warm in the room at night even with the balcony door open. The staff are polite and friendly and in all areas very professional. From the moment of check in with the friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of Miriam and Fiona at the front desk to the time of check out we were treated so well by everyone we encountered. This hotel is one of the best we have been to and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms for the most spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed recently with family in the Europe. Everything was just as you'd expect for a 5 star hotel without the snobbiness that you often get with 5 star establishments. Staff very professional and courteous without being intrusive. Food in the Brasserie was excellent.... Not to mention such a wonderful atmosphere while dining... Make sure to ask for a table by the window so as to make the most of the fantastic views of the lakes of Killarney while there. The Spa is amazing. It is one of the flagship Espa spa's in Europe and it certainly lives up to its name. Had the Wonderful infinity pool all to myself on a beautiful sunny morning looking out onto the Lakes which takes you to another world! It's not cheap €120 pp b&b per night (weekend) but then again You get what you pay for and in my opinion it was well worth it. For those who like Ealing there are beautiful grounds surrounding the hotel. You could easily stay here for the weekend and not ask to leave as its feels like your in another world. Hotel management acknowledged our comments that we left on the comment card in the hotel room but taking the time to write and thank us for our custom and feedback.... Something that I've never received from a hotel but such a nice thought and to me really highlights what good customer service is about... I can't wait to go back !

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room to fully enjoy the wonderful grounds and views from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when attending a wedding reception in Sept, All i can say is that it was first class from start to finish, The food was exquisite along with the service, Such friendly and helpful staff. The scenery breathtaking. My husband used the pool which was fantastic. If i had one little gripe it would be to supply tea making facility in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Europe Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.