We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Europe Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I have no complaints bar one! The hotel was amazing! My complaint was i arrived on check in tome at 2! And my room wasnt ready until 4:30! Check in is 2 hello! I didnt get an extra check out time or anythinh complimentary. A little disappointin for a 5 star! but otherwise it was great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    105
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
127
373
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Lake View Room for three nights. The view across the lake to the mountains is fantastic. The room was good sized with large shower and bath. The condition of the room was impeccable with luxury bedding. All the facilities were equally well designed and maintained. WiFi access available everywhere. Plenty of quiet areas to get away and relax. Beautiful outdoor grounds. Indoor and outdoor pool and sauna areas are very nice. We did not use the spa but it looked quite nice as well. We stayed early in the week and the entire place was rather uncrowded. Very friendly and warm bartenders provided good conversation and nice local perspective. We ate at both the Brasserie and the Panorama restaurants. We found the staff to be a little more friendly and relaxed at the Brasserie but the food better at the Panorama.

Room Tip: Deluxe Lakeview rooms on first floor have large outdoor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with one evening meal,overall the hotel had stunning views, an excellent spa with a lovely out door pool/jacuzzi,complimentary horse riding for the kids, a small play ground. The hotel decor was very nice and it never felt crowded or full. The food was excellent, buffet breakfast fantastic anything you could think of they had. The staff were exceptional, friendly, brilliant with the kids, very welcoming, could not do enough for us. I also noticed some staff were bi lingual which was helpful for overseas guests. I love the library it would be nice to have an occasional waiter service here, though the staff did bring our coffee after dinner there. The dinner included in the price was excellent about €60 of an allowance per person. i loved the spa cafe the menu was great in here. the bedrooms golf side with balcony were ok, I would have liked a bath and shower ( though the shower was lovely) the rooms need air conditioning. The bed was comfortable.

Overall very enjoyable and relaxing, a little bit on the expensive side charging extra for a pull out bed for a child €59 per night I think. Will I go again, yes defiantly

Room Tip: If you want a kettle in your room ask at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After a very disappointing one night stay in Tralee we changed our itinerary to stay in Killarney at The Europe Hotel. This place rescued our impression of this area. The view from the lobby across the lake is breathtaking. The common areas and room were impeccably appointed and the staff catered to our every need. The health club and spa are very modern and absolutely beautiful. We did tire of the restaurant menus after 3 days, but there are plenty of alternatives a short distance away.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lakeside view is well worth the investment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as our "splurge" for a recent trip to Ireland, and we were not disappointed. We reserved a twin lakeview room because there wasn't a double available, but they happily switched us to a double upon check-in.

Unlike a lot of luxury hotels that nickel and dime you for everything, the Europe goes the route of including everything in the room rate -- including access to their spa and leisure facilities (except treatments), buffet breakfast, internet, horseback riding, etc. Since we were paying for our own stay, we appreciated all of the inclusions that were provided.

Here are some tips if you decide to stay at The Europe:

* Be sure to do the horseback riding -- especially if you have kids. It's free, fun, and the ponies are beautiful. It only takes about 20-30 minutes to go around the loop on the hotel grounds.

* Don't miss the "thermal suite", a complex of pools, steam room, sauna, etc. There are lots of hidden bubblers and other features in the pools that are controlled by underwater buttons.

* If you sign up for the free "I Prefer" hotel loyalty program and book through Preferred Hotel Group, you get a free bottle of wine in your room when you check in along with some other perks.

And some recommendations for the hotel:

* Install air conditioning. We were there on a warm night, and had to have the sliding door and curtains open all night just to keep the room cool.

* Improve the quality of the food at the casual restaurant. Our meals were just mediocre, and tasted like they had been sitting around for a while before they were served.

* Explain the amenities of the hotel upon check-in. I doubt anyone would know about the horseback riding unless they read the small print hidden in the in-room guide. The only way we knew about the free internet is because we tried it out. These are differentiating features, and could really be "sold" at check-in.

Finally, special thanks to the staff member who helped resolve a mechanical problem with our rental car upon departure. You even came out to the parking lot and assessed the issue with us, then called Hertz to arrange a fix! Wow!

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: The view over the lake is stunning, and it's probably worth upgrading to the lakeview room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleisland, Kerry, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had the most relaxing stay at the Europe. The food was excellent as were the facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views are simply wonderful. Lits of walks and outdoor activities as well as an excellent spa. It was worth every euro. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Ireland southwest area and stayed in The Europe Hotel for the thee days while we visited Killarney National Park, Dingle, and Ring of Kerry.

We were absolutely blown away by the Europe Hotel. This is perhaps one of the best, if not the best, hotels we've stayed in. The hotel itself faces the lake and mountain and the view is stunning. You cannot get tired of looking at the gorgeous scenery. The hotel is thoughtfully designed and laid out. My wife and I walked around the hotel and appreciated how the hotel's interior designer have carefully considered all possible ways to maximize the customers' visit. There are two restaurants in the hotel, one is more casual dinning and one is for fine dinning. The food for both restaurants were delicious. In addition, every morning, we got to enjoy our breakfast in their panorama restaurant.

If you are to stay here, be sure to upgrade to the lakeside view rooms. When I booked it, it was about $30 a night extra, but it was definitely worth it. You'll get a large balcony that faces the lake and mountain. My wife and I sat there one evening and watched the sunset.

In our three-day stay, we drove around the area and looked at other hotels and I have to say that this is probably the best one if you're staying in this vicinity.

Room Tip: Definitely get the lakeside room. You'll have a large balcony facing the mountain. Beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Europe Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.