We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Europe Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
B&B from only €125ppsh
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

As the title said, amazing. Myself and my partner have stayed in many a hotel, and both of us agree nothing has come close to the Europe. From the staff to the rooms to the view, everything was 10/10. The view alone is worth the visit. Stunning hotel and grounds. Will deffinetly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    121
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
145
468
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I am quite picky when it comes to hotels, recently stayed in Ritz Carlton Powerscourt, Wicklow and was a bit disappointed. However, this hotel is really fabulous. Fantastic views, brilliant staff, food excellent, would really recommend this hotel. One of the nicest hotels in Ireland by far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location, exceptional views, excellent spa, rooms ok, nothing luxurious for a five star. While rooms have great views, the design can make things noisy from other balconies. No air system in room, must rely on opening door, which can mean overhearing conversations on other balconies. Breakfasts were very nice, dinner was very good, but not quite five star. One detail really bothered me. I enjoy Getting up early and wanted to enjoy a cup of tea while watching the morning across the lake. I went to the dining room and was told nothing would be available until they opened at 7 am, but to go the front desk. I went to the front desk where they told me to go to breakfast at seven. So, I just sat in the lovely lobby reading wile the desk staff chattered away nearby. It was also odd that the bar/lounge didn't open until 30 mins prior to the dining room for dinner. Sometimes a cocktail prior to 6:30 is nice. A well run German establishment that lacks some of the finer luxuries of a true five star, but is still one of the best in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have not seen many hotels in Ireland, but The Europe is one of the best I've seen in years in Europe. Not all staff are Irish, and therefore not everyone can tell you interesting stuff about local things (such as Gaelic football or Hurling, or about the beautiful places to visit). But if you talk to one of the locals working in the excellent Brasserie, you will love it. Splendid view on the lake and mountain from our room. Service was superb.
We never visit a place twice, but The Europe just might be the first hotel that we will visit for a second time.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are great. Get up early for a small walk in the park in front of the hotel and spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is excellence personified. In every way it strives to make it's guests feel completely relaxed and almost at home in this fine establishment. The service, the rooms, the spa, the food in spa cafe etc all met 5 star standard no problem. The location is a perfect escape from a busy life if thats what you are seeking. Killarney town is a great spot with live music in nearly all pubs if ur looking for bit of ceol agus craic. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. You will not be disappointed here :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break in The Europe Hotel and have to say it was nothing short of bliss. From the moment you enter to the hotel until you leave it is just top class. The hotel itself is just gorgeous every corner you turn it is simply beautiful. The spa and pool area are divine and the staff are so well trained in customer care, a lot of other hotels should take a lesson from the Europe staff.
Our room was just lovely-room 405 overlooking the stunning scenery. The room was modern, large and beautifully decorated with an excellent power shower and bath. The food in the hotel both the breakfast and dinner in the Panaroma restaurant were excellent. Food was cooked to perfection and delicious.
We enjoyed our weekend so much we didn't even leave the hotel, just chilled and thorougly relaxed. In our opinion this hotel must be of the most best hotels in Ireland. Thank you to the staff for making our break so enjoyable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lakeview Room definitely worth it, anything on Floor 4 overlooking the Lakes is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Northern ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have been going to the Hotel Europe since 1979 when it was a German style hotel run by Germans. It is now a contemporary style hotel run by Irish and still owned by Germans. Over the years it has been consistently one of the best in Ireland and is still the gold standard for hotels in the Emerald Isle.

There is no better view from any hotel, the rooms are superb, the public spaces are second to none, the food and service are excellent.

It is expensive but you only get what you pay for.

Room Tip: One with a full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Europe Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.