We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views and Beautiful Decor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Europe Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
B&B€120ppsh Golfside Room
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Fossa
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Beautiful Decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Driving up to the hotel I was initially a bit put off by the blocky concrete building. However it only took setting one foot into the lobby to know that first impressions are not always correct.The Europe exceeded my expectations! Upon arrival and check in we were greeted with warm towels from the spa to refresh, which was perfect after our day of touring the Southwest coast of Ireland. The decor was very contemporary without being austere. Rather it was simple, clean lined, and inviting. The views out over the gardens and lake were the perfect compliment to the interior.
At first I was concerned that the hotel was not within walking distance to the center of town, but Killarney is very touristy and it was nice to remove ourselves from the hustle and bustle. Additionally the restaurants on the hotel property are lovely, so no need to head back to town for dinner.
We enjoyed a before dinner drink in the bar which was also beautifully designed. We sat by the windows over looking the grounds. When our table was ready we were escorted to another lovely table also overlooking the grounds and lake and enjoyed a wonderful meal.
The room was luxurious, heated tile floors in the bathroom outfitted with gorgeous brown marble counters. I sunk into the insanely comfortable bed and slept peacefully with the exception of being slightly too warm!
I would recomend this to travelers who have high standards and are looking to be a bit pampered. This is not a charming B&B, but it is also not an impersonal hotel chain. At the Europe you will receive the personal attention of a B&B with the accommodations and amenities that a large hotel typically has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    87
    31
    15
    9
See reviews for
104
301
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family. It’s a 5 star hotel and you pay the price for this so you expect the best but for me it just didn’t live you to expectation. Its located approx 5km outside Killarney on lake Leane. Beautiful location which can be viewed from lake rooms only, spa and restaurant but unfortunately the low mist blocked our view most of the time which was a shame!
Reception staff very friendly but other staff I found while polite and efficient were not the friendliest. The lake view rooms I couldn’t fault, spacious, clean, etc- beds very comfortable but the room was very warm at night and members of staff walked into out room on one occasion without knocking first - very unprofessional.
The thermal spa was excellent but treatments expensive. The panorama restaurant where we ate dinner (piano playing was a bonus) and buffet breakfast (great selection)- there was no complaints. The brasserie restaurant where we ate on the 2nd night was disappointing, waiting too long for mains to come out. I got the pasta dish and it was tasteless with lumps of fat from the bacon in it and again it wasn’t cheap.
Overall for the price I can’t say that I would stay again so cant give it full marks.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms at additional cost but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

God, I still remember the fantastic bed they had! Of course the fact of having a great view on this lake in Killarney, and a great breakfast with wonderful views, are not to be ignored. The room was amazing. It was big, spacious, impeccable. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful hotel accomodation and the location can't be faulted, but Sunday Brunch BIG disappointment. Attended with my wife and found ourselves waiting for plates at buffet for each of starter, salad and main courses. Standing in line like a work canteen... Cutlery being handwashed by staff as there was obviously also not enough of these either. Main course, out of 5 options presented on menu only 2 were available. No creamed or roast potatoes - only rice. Ran out of everything! Had to use same cutlery for all courses. Never offered more. Even though restaurant quite emptyat this stage, staff were pre occupied with 'tidying' rather than attending to guests. 5 star prices, 2 star service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I can't rave enough about the Europe Hotel. From the fantastic views to the amazing breakfasts to the spa and pool, every moment at the Europe Hotel was memorable. The hotel was beautiful...very modern and updated, but completely comfortable. It seemed like every room had a generous balcony that viewed Lough Leane. It was pretty quiet and serene. The Spa seemed great. I didn't partake in a spa service or the exercise equipment, but definitely bring your swim suit!! The spa includes a swimming pool and an indoor/outdoor hot tub. I spent many hours just sitting in the hot tub, looking out at the scenery of Ireland. The staff couldn't have been better. The Manager directed us to a fabulous tea shop in Killarney and was beyond friendly every time we saw him. The hardest part was the location. It was a €12-15 (each way) cab ride into town. I would have loved to go into Killarney more, but that was a hefty price to pay. The hotel had free WiFi and massive breakfast options. The stay at the Europe Hotel was the highlight of our trip and has set the bar very high for hotel stays in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

If heaven exists it's at the Europe Hotel in Killarney. Recently we spent 3 luxurious days there. Outstanding. The Spa is beyond belief. I encountered several women in the Spa locker room who were obviously high end world travellers who told me that this was without question the best spa ever. The outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake and mountains is breathtaking. It is not pretentious or stuffy. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was gorgeous. The food is very good but very large portions - more like American portions.
There is something for everyone here. Do not hesitate....go!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'new wing'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, we had heard reports that it was a lovely hotel but nothing could have prepared us for the luxury and slendor of this hotel. Our room was one of the newly refurbished one's it had it's own balcony with views of the lake and mountains. We ate in the brasserie the food was delicious. The overall ambiance in the hotel is really exceptional, it is a fantastic escape.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Europe Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.