We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Europe Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Tramore, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our recent stay in Hotel Europe was like a dream come true .A beautiful hotel with well chosen furnishing carpets and luxuriant curtaining -out of our spacious bedroom window we had an unsurpassed view of one of the Lakes of Killarney .The lighting was magnificent both indoors and outdoors -like a fairytale ..We strolled in the peaceful atmosphere of the landscaped gardens and watched a pair of snowhite swans glide gracefully by as the evening sun glistened on the gently rippled lake .We watched in awe as the colours and light changed on the serried mountains and took lots of memorable photos .A wonderful meal served by a charming waitress awaited us in the gracious diningroom .All the staff were friendly and welcoming .We especially loved the Spa and pool

Room Tip: ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    105
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
127
374
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

You have to experience it to know how fantastic it is. This hotel lived up to my expectations and more. The spa was amazing, the scenery was breathtaking, the newly renovated lakeview rooms were a very high standard and the buffet of desserts was very original and a fantastic idea.It deserves every bit of the five stars it has achieved. I am planning my next trip already!

Room Tip: lakeview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group, and we absolutely loved it! The views were fantastic, and I thought the food was off a very high quality.

I have absolutely no idea how people would give this hotel 1 star, i would query the authenticity of some of those reviews. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, haven't a single bad word to say about anyone.

Granted, some of the bar food was on the expensive side, and the restaurant decor is a bit dated. But our newly renovated lake view room was absolutely perfect, and all the staff we dealt were very friendly and went out of their way to help us.

In summary, it can be expensive but if you have the budget I would highly recommend this. I will definitely be back!.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our weekend stay, in the The Europe Hotel & Spa in May of this year, was nothing more than idyllic. Some much so, we didn’t want to leave.

We were greeted warmly by the reception staff on arrival. Throughout our entire stay, they could not have been more helpful, courteous or attentive.

The facilities in the Europe are superb. The newly refurbished bedrooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. The views from both the lake rooms & the restaurant are spectacular making us wonder if we were still in Kerry.

The Spa is fantastic with every conceivable luxury on offer. Entering the pool area is like entering another world, with the outdoor Jacuzzi an added bonus. No expense has been spared in making this hotel a truly five star retreat.

We ate in the Brasserie for lunch & dinner on Friday and in the main restaurant on the Saturday. The food was excellent, the presentation was second to none & the staff were professional yet extremely friendly. We had the option to move to the lounge area after dinner to enjoy an exquisite dessert buffet while listening to the local musical talent. We could have stayed there all night. The plentiful breakfast buffet which was on offer each morning set us up for our days of relaxation .

We will definitely be returning to The Europe as soon as possible as we haven’t experience the same absolute perfection in any other hotel in the country.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights end may/early june 2011...was pleasantly surprised on check in to have been given a lake view room as requested (they charge a higher room rate but didnt charge us)....the hotel looks great, was very happy with the room , and loved the breakfasts..dont know why people here are complaining about the breakfasts..loved the staff in the swimming/sauna/gym area..as one who would stay there all day..yes i was happy...now i come to the downsides..the superb panorama restaraunt is closed from sun to wed nights which limits dining options in the hotel (just 2 restaraunts)..customers are not informed of this on the hotel website..this is relevant to customers who book packages including meals.,,we found the staff in the brasserie restaraunt to be rude ..we dined there a few times on our stay (as we had no choice!)..we had an issue with a cold meal..they did not respond and charged full amount...the staff seemed sullen and there was a bad vibe in the brasserie..yes the place is very expensive..but you know that before you go and really this hotel is only for special occasions..also for a 5 star hotel we were surprised the rooms were not made up before 4pm in the afternoon though this was only a minor complaint...however we were disappointed that nobody in mgt contacted us about our complaints we filed with them in the standard checkout form..the hotel was very quiet..i can see why in a recession...but surprised at these issues in a 5 star hotel

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just returned from a two night stay in The Europe and was very disappointed by same. On the positives the view and pool area are fabulous. But the rest was a big and expensive disappointment. The rooms are the same as any 2/3 star hotel in the country in fact they maybe better, the linen was all wrinkly pillows teribble decor completely dated.
The restaurant was also completly jaded looking, food was completely over priced and only average, at breakfast you queued for your full irish which were sitting in hot pans and most of the buffet was empty. Staff were clearing off tables but yet most of the dishes on the buffet were empty.

Very sorry we stayed and wont be back, didnt think hotels could get away with riping people off like that these days!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Absolutely stunning public areas, gardens and pool.

We were first put into one of the "unrenovated" rooms which was dated and totally out of character with the modern refurbishment of the public rooms. We finally were able to move into one of the renovated rooms after much effort. Attractive with great views of the lake (make sure you book a lake view)-- but not up to standards of other 5-star rooms we've stayed in.

Service at the bar area and outside deck was abysmal. Breakfast buffet was not on par with a hotel of this caliber, and the restaurant is in need of total renovation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Europe Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.