We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice buffet but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olea

Olea
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort | St. Regis Saadiyat, United Arab Emirates
02-4988888
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice buffet but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went a couple of times during the week and weekends. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and even in May it was enjoyable outside.
The selection of starter and main dishes is huge, very nice seafood, but relatively limited deserts choice. Great cheese selection.You can get middle east, asian, and continental dishes. Not as good as mangrove Anantara, the Shangri La or the Westin and more expansive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was in Abu Dhabi on vacation a few weeks ago. I can talk on and on about this place, simply loved it! I went in the Olea Restaurant a few times while I was there, and it was a great experience. First of all I would like to say thanks to the hostess (Elisabeth or something like that). She managed to make our experience fun from the very start, she found us a seat even though the place was pretty full. Beyond that point we would have been satisfied with anything, but the rest of the staff we encountered was just as pleasant and fun. The food was also great. I think we had the mixed grill the first time we were there and it was great, as well as the several other dishes we had in our visits there. The second time we went there (without a reservation again) the hostess treated us as we were regulars... An amazing feeling. Would definitely recommend both the Hotel and the Restaurant as the staff seems to assure you have a memorable time there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fair breakfast experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great ambiance so indulging,very friendly staff charming hostess Joy torres is a star .better breakfast experience this time though lots of improvement needed and communication amongst staff and management tables took long to be cleared .a brand like st regis needs to deliver more!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Average hotel fare. Nothing to write home about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I ate at Olea for breakfast and lunch, and saw some consistent trends.

Ambience:
Lovely view to the gardens. If you love al fresco dining, this is one of the places to go.

Food:
Nothing stood out on both meals.
Breakfast was the usual fare of British, Indian, Arabic and Chinese dishes.
Lunch was pretty much average fare. (terrine, smoked fish, braised meat, pasta etc)
No carvery but at least they have a decent set of fish options.

Service
Generally inconsistent
Breakfast, the restaurant was less than a third full and yet the staff struggled to clear tables and serve drinks in a timely manner. One of my pet peeves is seeing restaurant staff act as if guests are not there and not react to a table that needed clearing or an empty cup.
Lunch service was much better despite the fact that the restaurant was nearly full.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at Olea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Olea, our Mediterranean inspired all day dining venue.

Secondly, I would like to apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced during your visit and I will be sure to highlight these to the venue management.

If carvery if your preference I can recommend our Thursday Roast Evenings in Olea which feature a host of carvery and roast items.

Kind Regards

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Avoid at all cost!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great ambience let down by extremely poor food. Mushroom soup was worse than tinned soups!!! Never thought anything could taste worse than canned soup!!! Too much variety with very little focus on flavours. dessert was not just appalling but shameful - it was of the same standard as a cheap buffet restaurant (Cosmo chain in the U.K. , for instance). Disgraceful considering this is part of a 5 star hotel!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at Olea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Olea.

I would like to assure you that I have reached out to the chef regarding your comments. Should you wish to discuss the matter further I can be reached on stregis.saadiyat@stregis.com.


Kind Regards

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olea also viewed

Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.