We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel.....but no good if you want a good nights sleep!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cannards Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cannards Well Hotel to your Saves list
Cannards Well Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Astwood Bank, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel.....but no good if you want a good nights sleep!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two night over a weekend. The staff were friendly and we had a warm welcome but the noise of the bar downstairs ensured I didn't manage to get to sleep until gone 3am. I was unfortunate to be given the room directly above the bar/restaurant and the walls and ceilings are so thin that I could here music and conversations very load from the bar. It got until 1am and I phoned down to ask them to turn the music down and expressed that had an early start the next morning, the woman who answered said she would however it was gone 3am when the noise and raucous laughter stopped and I could finally get some sleep. The walls were so thin that I could even hear the gentleman in the room next to me snoring.
Also be aware that there are not complimentary products such as shampoo or soap in the room for you and there is not a hairdryer.
On a plus note the food was good, but I would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannards-Well, Manager at Cannards Well Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Having read this review we can only offer our apologies and if the matter had been brought to the attention of the owners he would have rectified the position immeadiately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    10
    10
    15
See reviews for
15
26
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited the area and needed a dog friendly hotel. We did not read the reviews simply booked . As stated so often the landlord, landlady and staff could not be nicer and we found the whole experience very restful and calm / food was amazing freshly cooked and well presented - breakfast was whatever you wanted and included price wise. The cost was right for the level of accommodation which was a suite with separate lounge and bedroom - lashings of hot water and clean and comfortable - not luxurious but you would not expect that for the price charged. All in all we would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this great hotel whilst looking for somewhere to stay for the night. A great welcome from Jim and the rest in his "office". Great food, great atmosphere, great company-a great work in progress as improvements are well underway. We decided to stay for a second night as it was close to both Bath & Glastonbury where there is lots to see & do. Great time with the locals. I would highly recommend this hotel for a great, friendly& entertaining place to stay & very economical. Two happy & very satisfied customers from Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A friend and I booked a twin room at this lovely country pub. The welcome from the owner and staff was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble and they all went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We have re-booked for a further stay next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I received a lovely welcome. The landlord and pub staff was very pleasant. The room was basic, clean and well serviced. Value for money was good. The weekday breakfast was huge and served with a pleasant chat from the weekday chef.. However the week end buffet breakfast was poor, the service nonexistent and appalling. This could be a great place but needs attention in good customer service skills in the breakfast room.
If the weekend kitchen personal and waitress were not so absent socialy and in thier work I would rate this as a 4.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cannards Grave hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Room was huge but mattress too soft in middle. Ducting covers loose in bathroom, shower head needed to be replaced as well as the cheap toilet seat. Windows need replacing as noise from A37 really bad. Service was warm and place was super clean. Food OK

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this independent hotel in July 2013 for 1 night, with a group of friends.
The welcome was excellent and the staff and owner even offered to give us a lift to our destination as we were late.

The single room was comfortable and clean, small but not too small, and the shower room was also clean an comfortable and quite spacious. There was a problem with the door lock, but the staff offered to get this fixed immediately.

The location is good for our trip into Shepton Mallett.

The breakfast was large and excellent, with plenty of juices, tea & coffee available.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannards Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannards Well Hotel

Address: Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Cannards Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cannards Grave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannards Well Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cannards Well Hotel is situated within close proximity of the beautiful Cathedral cities of Wells and Bath, the caves at Wookey Hole and Cheddar, as well as the cornucopia of a shopfest at Clarke’s Village and not least the magic of Glastonbury.We have spacious suites benefitting from the full package of Sky channels, an evening in after a leisurely meal may be a fitting close to the day.Alternatively, our bar is stocked with locally sourced Ciders on draught, as well as beers from the West Country,. We pride ourselves on our selection of malts and cognacs, in addition to the quality and value of our wines.With no rush as to the time you rise and have breakfast, our aim is to make your stay highly enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cannards Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannards Well Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.