We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel we have come across” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cannards Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cannards Well Hotel to your Saves list
Cannards Well Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The worst hotel we have come across”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed in this DUMP for 1 night. There were 6 of use. The hotel description states it is 4 start - what a lie!!!.( you might see stars after the shock you get when you reach the place).I think the owner has awarded to himself, I am sure this place has no stars.
This place is dirty, doggy, noisy and scary.
I have read the other reviews , 2 reviews correctly states the this is a dump, the other review say that this is a wonderful place - well these reviews must have been written by the sleazy owners cronies.
Food - breakfast came in dirty plates and cups, no fruits or cereals, toast burnt and after asking 2-3 times that too 6 pieces for 6 of us, half of the items in the FULL English missing.
AVOID this hotel at any cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    11
    11
    15
See reviews for
17
26
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

3 of us stayed at Cannards last week, and from the moment you walked through the door you were made to feel so welcome. All the staff were really friendly but a big special thanks has to go out to Ian (Head Chef) - he made sure that we were all looked after, happy, and from what I saw throughout my stay he treated all guests with this fantastic level of service. The rooms that we used were clean and tidy. Plenty of tea & coffee in the room to keep me going for the 2 days :) Room also had tv, free wifi and hairdryer.clean towels provided.
The food at the Cannards was very good and the full english certainly sets you up for the day. The place has its own bar with plenty of local cider to hand...go for the Big Sting! :D

I can see many people have mentioned the busy room - all I can say is that you do have the A37 running past it...but that was clear to us before we booked the rooms. The 'noise' was no problem for us at all :)
Definitely would recommend this place to anybody, and will definitely use Cannards again! The price of the rooms, food and drinks is very good value!
Thanks to everyone at Cannards....Sam, Pippa and Crystal x

Room Tip: tips on getting best room? just ask the staff when booking your room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for two nights B&B at the weekend. We ate in the restaurant on Friday night and had three lovely meals cooked to order, good choice of beer and cider. Full English breakfast both mornings was cooked to order, delicious and filled the plate. Unlimited tea and toast was offered. All staff were friendly and helpful going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We took our dog who was made welcome and also enjoyed his weekend. Downside would be the noisy road, however after a full day and the window open we still slept well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

stayed for two nights, all the staff were very helpful and nice, jim the landlord made you feel very welcome and the head barman, food was excellent very good chef, very good base for exploring the mendip hills, wells and cheader, dog friendly accomerdation we took our dogs, i would say suitable for walkers back packers and dog people, when you come back after a long day you dont have to go anywere else, relaxing bar,

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

very friendly staff the service was second to none. the room was very clean and comfortable we could not have asked for any more.

the food was no fuss just good and tasty. (the best steak with all the trimmings)

will defiantly be back

Room Tip: anything you need just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
par
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Dont stay here if you want any sleep. This is not a hotel. It's a very poor B&B with rooms which have the feel of cheap 80's bedsits at their worst- furniture broken, dirty and sub standard. Curtain rail hanging off, 3 measly coat hangers and a TV remote so filthy I couldnt bring myself to use it. The towels werent clean and the bedroom carpet had so much grime I kept my shoes on even after a bath! Right on the main road- cars were endless. No soundproofing at all between rooms. Awful. The staff tried and were pleasant but the over eager Landlord was just sleezy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cannards Grave hotels

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed two nights midweek whilst on business.Excellent value for money,great service,good food, and friendly staff.Will be staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannards Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannards Well Hotel

Address: Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Cannards Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cannards Grave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannards Well Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cannards Well Hotel is situated within close proximity of the beautiful Cathedral cities of Wells and Bath, the caves at Wookey Hole and Cheddar, as well as the cornucopia of a shopfest at Clarke’s Village and not least the magic of Glastonbury.We have spacious suites benefitting from the full package of Sky channels, an evening in after a leisurely meal may be a fitting close to the day.Alternatively, our bar is stocked with locally sourced Ciders on draught, as well as beers from the West Country,. We pride ourselves on our selection of malts and cognacs, in addition to the quality and value of our wines.With no rush as to the time you rise and have breakfast, our aim is to make your stay highly enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cannards Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannards Well Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.