We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannards Grave Farmhouse

Save Saved
You added Cannards Grave Farmhouse to your Saves list
Cannards Grave Farmhouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannards Grave Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable, with a view of the English countryside and no noticable traffic noise from the busy road (we were at the back of the building). Sue fixed us a delicious English breakfast both days of our stay and was a very charming and informative host. There are two pubs within easy walking distance and we had a good evening meal at each of them. The town of Shepton Mallet is a short car ride away and was strategically located for our purposes - we visited Bath and Wells the first day and then departed for the Lake District the following day (a fairly easy day's drive, thanks to the motorways).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California & The World
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We loved our stay at Cannards Grave Farmhouse. This was a brief stopover on our way to attending Glastonbury Festival, and it was the last positive experience we had, before we left Glastonbury 2 days early, after having some major problems on the festival site. Sue was an extremely gracious hostess, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The grounds were lovely, and the room spacious enough for the two of us. We ventured out on a nice walk up a nearby trail, took in a great view of the valley, and met a couple of her neighbors who had lived there for 40 years, and had a pleasant conversation with them.

The only complaint we would have, is in regards to the water pressure from the shower. Neither of us found it near adequate enough, and we both ended up taking somewhat lengthy showers. No real complaints about the room other than that.

If we were to ever be in the area again, we would gladly stay at Cannards Grave Farmhouse B&B. Thank You Sue for everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Members of our family have stayed in each of the four rooms, but our favourite is the spacious four poster bedded room with it's luxurious en suite bathroom containing both bath and shower. Unlike the other rooms which look over fields, this is at the front of the house but we have not been disturbed by traffic noise. Sue provides everything you could possibly need, a range of hotel quality toiletries, a pile of fluffy towels, fresh milk and water in the fridge, a selection of teas and coffees & a supply of quality biscuits. We love the spotless room, with it's tasteful decor & sparkling laundered white bedlinen. Breakfast options are selected the night before from a comprehensive list. The meal is served in the conservatory. A side table is loaded with cereals, preserves fresh and dried fruit and juice, to choose from & you can select the type of bread you want and pop it in the toaster to cook to your taste. Whatever your choice of cooked breakfast you can guarantee it will be perfectly cooked and there will be plenty of it, washed down with as much fresh tea or coffee as you can drink. However it is not just the room and breakfast that attracts us back, it is the warm caring & vivacious personality of Sue Crocker herself that makes this the best b & b we have experienced.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed overnight at this lovely farmhouse on our way to weymouth, It was well worth it. The place is beautiful, clean, and well decorated. We had a lovely room with views over the fields at the back. As for the breakfast wow, one of the nicest we have ever had. The fried bread was to die for. Thanks Sue for a lovely stay we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed one night in the four poster room and it was really lovely. In fact, my fiance thought it was one of the nicest rooms we've stayed in in England and we travel a lot. The room was huge, as was the ensuite bathroom, and lovely and comfortable. Also, amazingly quiet (with the windows closed) given the proximity to the road, we slept really well. The hosts are also lovely and the breakfast in the morning really good with lots of options. We're vegetarian but we were amply catered for with fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast, croissants and even a full english with vege sausages! I also got a lovely cafetiere of decaf coffee made just for me. The breakfast room/conservatory is really lovely too, overlooking fields and very cute sheep. They also have wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Have just stayed at Cannards Grave Farmhouse for the second time and was even more impressed than the first time. This visit was arranged to celebrate my 40th birthday .. so stayed in the wonderful four poster room, which was pure luxury - a large room with a comfy bed and a great bathroom. Sue is the perfect hostess and the breakfast is the best of any B&B I have stayed at .. and I've been to a lot over the years :-) Highly recommended. Brilliant location for the area, close to Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Longleat, Bath, Glastonbury, Wells and other great places nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We found this B&B to be the best we've ever stayed in. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.The room was absolutely fantastic, clean and well presented. we stayed in the four poster room, it was simply beautiful! The breakfast was a full english also with a table where you could help yourself to cereal, toast, yoghurt and fruit too. I would recommend them to anyone and will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cannards Grave Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannards Grave Farmhouse

Address: Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Cannards Grave
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cannards Grave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannards Grave Farmhouse 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cannards Grave Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannards Grave Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.