We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish & Chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Fish & Chips

Mel's Fish & Chips
360 Dundas St, Woodstock, Ontario N4S 1B7, Canada
519.537.5871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 89 Restaurants in Woodstock
Restaurant details
Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Don't go by the outside, the staff are very friendly, the fish & chips are the best around. Also only place I can go for mushy peas, a must have with fish & chips for any english person. Prices are great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ingersoll, Canada
1 review
“MMMMMM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best fish around.. Dont want to compare to the world but I have told them there that they are better than the big name franchises, wold go weekly if I could.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wrap it up in newspaper to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The way its always been since I was a kid. Greasy but always good. You know what you will get here. Made the same way every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We did take out. I was impressed with the food. I am not a fish person, so I was not overly excited to have fish for dinner...but this place has won me over. It was great! We had the Halibut with fries. ALL very tasty. Next time we return to Mels we will dine in. Our take out was missing the crunchy goodness by the time we made it home with our food....but the great flavour was still there!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is the first time that I have ben to this restaurant, but both my wife and brother have indicated that it is very good. I enjoy fish and chips once in awhile but often find that they are just OK. Today I had probably the best Halibut and hand cut fries that I can remember. It was most enjoyable. I noticed that some reviewers indicate that it is expensive and the higher end fish is bit pricey but I don't believe it to be unreasonably so. I was impressed that for a small venue they offered a variety of other items that weren't fish and chips. This review is based on today's visit, but who knows what future visits may reveal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.