We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't spend our anniversary anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Country Garden B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added English Country Garden B&B to your Saves list
English Country Garden B&B
45478 Cabot Trail, | RR 1, Indian Brook, Nova Scotia B0C 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Indian Brook B&B and Inns
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't spend our anniversary anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the time we arrived our hosts were gracious and accommodating. The room was beautiful, very comfortable bed and uniquely decorated. The food was amazing and I mean amazing. I ate enough for two days. High recommend this tucked away romantic get away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mary ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your anniversary stay .We take pride in our food and are thrilled that you enjoyed it .If memory recalls you chose the Cornish hen with the red raisin sauce.

How I wish you could see our spring flowers which are coming into full bloom .The daffodils are spectacular all around the property .As ever our star magnolia never fais to impress and amaze.If you are driving in the area in the next few weeks please call in to see " a host of golden daffodils. " Being " tucked away " on the Cabot Trail has its advantages for enjoying piece and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of everyday lives.

Our front porch is now fully renovated so hopefully should you visit again you will be able to enjoy Fine Dining in new and different surroundings with the hidden cathedral ceiling now exposed .All the best for many more happy years ,

Yours sincerely ,

Ian,
Co-owner .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
85
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We knew we were taking our chances travelling to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia at this time of year as the weather can still be quite cold and most tourist attractions are still closed in April. Our purpose was to take in the breathtaking scenery and travel the Cabot Trail. We selected this B&B based on the proprietors' website, the amenities and services offered for the price and the proximity to our starting point in New Brunswick. The reality surpassed our expectations. Ian greeted us upon arrival, we were shown where we would be dining (an extra service that we were very excited to take advantage of) and then we were shown to the room we had requested (The Russian Room) and advised that dinner would be served at 7 p.m. The accommodations were fantastic (the air tub, the comfortable bed, view overlooking the lake), our hosts, Ian and Penny, gracious and solicitous, and the meals delicious and nourishing. We brought our own wine to enjoy with dinner (recommended on the website) and were served by Penny who took the time to tell us about each course we were served. Our stay at the English Country Garden B&B was a highlight and one we will long remember. If we have the opportunity to return, this will be on our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Russian Room - beautiful, spacious and a wonderful view. After a day of travel, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Even when guests are travelling in the non traditional holiday periods and the weather can be inhospitable ,Penny ,I and our staff do everything possible to ensure the welcome is warm ,the accommodation relaxing and restorative, after a long day, the meals beyond the norm .

It thrills us to know we achieve our objectives and surpass what the guest is expecting . Whatever the time of year the Cabot Trail is beautiful ,thrilling and uplifting . We hope to welcome you both again ,

Ian,
Co-owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoy spending our Valentine's getaway at English Country Gardens B & B, and have done so for the past five years straight. The owners, Ian & Penny, are such gracious hosts, with caring attention to all details concerning the accommodations and meals. We were pampered this year with wonderful gourmet fair, including quail (marinated and roasted with pear and a brandy & currant sauce); beef wellington (with pastry to die for, and vegetables roasted to perfection) and a sinfully rich and decadent belgian chocolate dessert. Just describing this makes my mouth water for more. We would definitely recommend this inn, with themed rooms, and hospitality to spare. You owe it to yourself to experience it if you are in the area or planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Over the years for our Valentine's Dinner we have introduced one or two new dishes .This year it was the quail baked in a pear and the Belgian chocolate and Marscapone with fresh raspberry dessert .Betty and Graham judged the dinner to be the best ever ! They have stayed with us several times over the past years in winter ,spring and summer . It has always been a delight and a reward to serve them .

Penny and I achieve so much satisfaction from preparing and serving food ,especially when it is really appreciated .We also enjoy all aspects of hosting guests at our B & B whatever season of the year,

Thank you ,

Ian,
The English Country Garden B &B .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Iris suite which I highly recommend. The suite was up some steep stairs, so travelers should be forewarned (there are other suites that are more easily accessible if needed), but then it was a world of privacy. I still dream about the tub (really comfortable, especially after a long day of driving and hiking) and the bedroom was soothing grays and purples and really felt like an oasis. Ian and Penny clearly have an eye for detail. The breakfast was pear-ginger pancakes that were really delicious, served with an assortment of sides. The table was set with the same eye to detail - it was a formal sit down breakfast if such a thing exists! While we ate, a hummingbird hovered just on the other side of the window! Ian and Penny were very gracious about the fact that, because of hikes and driving over from Cheticamp, we arrived a bit late. We had a kayak trip booked in the morning, so we couldn't linger, but it would have been nice to spend more time there. The night we were there dinner wasn't an option, and I agree with other posters who say it's a bit of a long drive after dinner back to Ian & Penny's (especially if you've already driven that day). I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here and would happily go back if I ever have the opportunity. It was one of my two favorite places that we stayed during our entire trip. (Note to reader: I actually stayed August 2011, but have been slow to post a review.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Thurstonhawk,

Better late than never as they say and thank you so much for such an heartwarming review .It is always reasuring to know that the efforts of Penny and I and our staff are appreciated .

We shall be reinstating our Fine Dining option year round in 2013 . Also there will be more local eating options available in our immediate area this year ,thereby lessening the drive after an exhilarating day in the glorious outdooors of the Cabot Trail.

Happy holiday planning for 2013 !

Yours sincerely ,

Ian,
Co-owner,
The English Country Garden B & B .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Last year my husband and I were married at the English Country Garden and everything went perfectly. For our one year anniversary my husband surprised me as we returned for another stay. Ian and Penny were again gracious and did everything possible to make our anniversary one we would never forget. Ian prepared the same meal that he had prepared one year earlier on our wedding day and even secured my favourite bottle of champagne. This year however the restaurant was closed during the months of August and September but Ian and Penny opened the restaurant especially for us. The same table was exquisitely adorned with a fabulous tablecloth and place settings. The food was even better than last year as well! The details were worked out in advance between my husband and Ian unbeknownst to me and executed in a perfect manner. Thank you Ian and Penny for making my one year anniversary as memorable as my wedding day!

Lynda Campo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It is always a delight and a pleaseure to welcome guests to The English Country Garden B & B .How much more so when that couple is,in this case Linda and Steve who were returning for their first wedding anniversary after having been married at the English Country Garden a year before in a simple ,beautiful ceremony on the porch of Rose Cottage.

It is certainly gratifying to know that my cooking ,along with fine wine ,improves with age !

We shall be resuming for 2013 our Fine Dining experience year round ,this by popular demand .Our fine dining is not just about the food ,it is about the art of the table with silver ,linen,crystal ,fresh flowers and china .We provide small pods of space for intimate dining .It is all about the total experience ,

With very best wishes ,

Ian,
Co-owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Cottage which provided privacy and a very large comfortable cottage that included a bottle of wine and some chocolate. The location was well suited for a stay on Cape Breton to travel the Cabot Trail. The breakfasts were special and very delightful. The dining area has a wonderful view of a small lake and attractive grounds. Ian was a very warm and personable host who provided good directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
On behalf of my wife Penny and our staff Diane and Avery I should like to thank all those guests who have taken the time to write such wonderful and helpful comments and reviews on Trip Advisor .They really do help.

We also want to take this opportunity to wish all our past, present and potential customers a very Happy Christmas and a prosperous New Year .

In 2013 we shall continue to do our utmost to create an unforgetable positive experience for you at The English Country Garden B & B .The gardens will be the recipient of more attention including The Heron Walk and a new glass installation ,The Lost Sole down near the lake ,

With very best wishes ,

Ian,
Co-owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Penny and ian have been lovely hosts and it is obvious that they love what they are doing. All rooms have been decorated by different themes with a high degree of originality, eye for detail and quality so travelers can fully relax and enjoy their stay. These people know what they are doing and we would very much enjoy coming back during our next visit to cape breton. thumbs up for their lovely b&b

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to English Country Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Country Garden B&B

Address: 45478 Cabot Trail, | RR 1, Indian Brook, Nova Scotia B0C 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Indian Brook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax with us and experience the art of living. Overlooking a tranquil lake, our inspired rooms are the beginning of a Bed & Breakfast experience like few other. 5 Luxury Suites with 4 piece bathroom en-suites. Full English Breakfast. Open Year-Round. No Stairs for most of our suites. Fine Dining by advance reservation only. Canoe and hiking trails. Professional Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your English Country Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Country Garden B&B Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia - Indian Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Country Garden B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.