We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jungle atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Perico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casa Perico to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Perico
Rio Dulce, Rio Dulce, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Harvey York Co
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“jungle atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a private double room with screened windows and mosquito nets, large room with a double and single bed, shared bath. Lots of hot water in the shower. We arrived from Flores after a 4-hour bus ride and went to the Sun Dog Cafe, just a few steps down a lane across from where the bus lets you off. We called the hotel and within 20 minutes there boat was there to pick us up (free). Our room was 130Q a night, you run a tab for everything, coffee is about 70 cents, beer about $1.50 and the food is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    9
    1
    12
See reviews for
5
30
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband, two year old son and I stayed for three nights in a private room with shared bathroom, the hotel is beautiful with wooden walkways of stilts joining the buildings.

You are a little isolated but that is part of the beauty of this place. We were given boat rides into town whenever we wanted, the owners only needed a few minutes notice and they charged a very reasonable $1.50 fee for their journey. The restaurant was excellent if a little pricey, but we brought our own drinks and breakfast to balance it out.

You can use their canoes for free to paddle out onto the river and to a swimming/sunbathing platform.

Our room was clean with mosquito nets, but I dont think we used them because there didnt seem to be many due to the screens across the windows. Yes there are bugs, but seriously, you are in the jungle on the water, in Guatemala! If you thought there wouldn't be any bugs you are a bit stupid!

I am amazed by some of the reviews here, the owners were very friendly to us, they didn't seem weird or unfriendly or reluctant to help, they ran their place well, they kitchen looked very good, they gave us good information on how to get to various attractions on our own without the need of expensive tours and how to get to our next destination.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Rio Dulce, I loved staying there, I loved the feeling of being in the jungle whilst still having good accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

on our guatemala trip my wife and I stayed here several times, whenever staying in rio dulce couldnt be avoided, and can definitely recommend this place even though it is not right in the town, but being picked up and brought back to town is no problem at all- 15 minute lancha ride to and back from the place is free.there are choices of bungalow style private rooms with private shower with hot water cheaper ones with shared bath, as well as dorm places. the place is on a little sidebranch of the rio dulce river, a little bit set back in the jungle. the ambient is beautiful and it is very tranquil here, definitely not a party place, but still a nice place to meet travelers if you need to, with very good food, inexpensive drinks and good coffee and breakfasts.
the owners are nice swiss guys who built up this place together some years ago.
definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapiquilas, Honduras
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We decided to stay here because we were on a tight budget, and it was about what we expected. Things were clean, and we all slept really well in the slightly more expensive shared dorm. The bathrooms are a little inconvenient, but they were clean and there were hot showers. All of the beds had mosquitto netting, and the upper room was really interesting. The food was slightly overpriced, but tasted really good.

I thought that the staff were actually pretty friendly and accommodating, and that for the price (about $6 per person), this was a good value.

Room Tip: I think that staying in the slightly more expensive (less than a dollar more) dorm, away from the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I hate giving a bad review but I feel that as a traveler I'd appreciate honesty from others. First the place is gorgeous as you are brought in by boat to the hotel and the seclusions feels wonderful UNTIL you realize it feels more like a prison because asking the owners for a boat ride into to town is always met with unpleasantness as they make you feel this simple request is a large inconvenience. In the several trips back and forth I always wondered why people were more excited about leaving the place than arriving, but I quickly realized why. The last straw for our groups was the morning we left. We were waiting for the 8:30am boat to catch a bus by 9:15am and an elderly couple asked the owner if they could please get their breakfast since the time was going on 8:15am and they were planning to leave on the mornings first boat. The response was met very rudley by one of the owners and this man in his late 70s looked at his wife unsure what was happening! So I'd absolutely recommend ANY other place than hotel Casa Períco! Awful!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimbin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Its a a nice little jungle hostel on the beautiful rio dulce. The rooms are simple but clean. Mosquito nets are provided for each bed. Showers are clean and have warm water. The owners are very warm and welcoming. We stayed a week there and enjoyed every day. In the evenings the kitchen staff cook a nice buffet.. you can eat all you can. We will go back there next time we stay in Guatemala. Thanks for the great times.

Room Tip: If you want peace choose the dorm away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel location is nice but the service is awful. One of the owner is super rude, unfriendly and does not make you feel welcome. When you ask for something you feel that you are really bothering him.... I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Perico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Perico

Address: Rio Dulce, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Rio Dulce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Perico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Perico Guatemala/Rio Dulce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Perico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.