We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price simply cannot be beaten for cleanliness and friendly hospitality provided.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Lodge Motel

Tropicana Lodge Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropicana Lodge Motel
Save
You added Tropicana Lodge Motel to your Saves list
158C Martyn Street, Manunda, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manunda
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Price simply cannot be beaten for cleanliness and friendly hospitality provided.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean, comfortable and secure. Staff were friendly, professional and welcoming. A great example of great hospitality, service and facilities on a budget. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for comfort, security and central location when visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hi I'm quiet a regular at this hotel staff always friendly always clean and tidy. I have stayed there when international students have been there they are welcome well mannered and respectful I will continue to stay here when get chance

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here with some friends over the long weekend, was pleasantly surprised. It had everything we needed at a very affordable price. The family rooms were massive and handy to everything. There was a BBQ, games room, volley beach court, and a cold pool to beat the hot day. The rooms have been renovated as everything looked newish. The managers and Shirley on the desk provided plenty of information, and made us feel welcome, will be staying here again and for a fraction of the city hotels. I must add we stayed here some years ago it was a bit run down but cheap. Its still cheap but much more stylish and heaps more to do on site. Well done Tropicana. We all loved it.

Room Tip: Family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms and was advised there would be light breakfast included. We turned up to the breakfast hall only to be humiliated by the owner and told our deal didn't include breakfast he was rude,arrogant and acted like a massive jerk. We will be checking out today. The hotel is like a school camp and room is like a dorm. Beyond basic. We will be checking out today

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tr0picanal0dgem0tel, Manager at Tropicana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Sorry to here about your experience at TLM. As you may not be aware we have been providing clean,secure affordable accommodation packages to various students (overseas,local,interstate) and school groups for over 83 years whom often are on tight budgets and don`t regularly see the odd family traveler whom think they can just help themselves to breakfast buffet. Meal options are only available with large group bookings whom often stay for several months of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manunda hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Hotel should be closed down, built in the 60s and not much has changed, its not fit to put a dog in. Room was dirty, floors not clean, furniture & bed filthy. Thanks to a helpful manager who said she was shocked at the state of the room. (think she must get shocked a lot) we got all our money back & moved to Sheridan Plaza for an extra $100 for two nights. Do not stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Pick another Motel or Hotel, there are lots to choose from!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tr0picanal0dgem0tel, Manager at Tropicana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
As we where near full ocupancy with one of our regular training organisations whom use our facilities 7 months of the year,this room is not generally availble to the public.No excuse it was not up to our normal standards and there where small areas over seen by our house keeping team. MY sincere applogises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a place I would really rather forget I stayed in. As the previous reviewer said the female staff person can be really abrasive.

They seem to have overcome the internet problem. Beds are very hard,decor is right out of the 50s to mid 60s but it is clean. This place often has indigenous people staying who like to drink outside,talk smoke and be loud. Ideal if you like that sort of thing.

It is a far away from any place to eat. A good 30 mins walk to centre of town.

There isnt much to really recommend this place.Seems the government puts a lot of people in this place as its cheap.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and walking shoes and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I booked this room online and was told by e-mail that I was to be in one room and that it would be open. When I arrived, this room was occupied by someone else and no e-mail was sent to advise me of the change. There was no internet access in the room (as advertised) which was my primary reason for booking to stay there. The motel is far from any restaurants or shops so after a late arrival I decided to order pizza. I could not even do this as the phone was disabled. Upon buzzing the manager, I was told that I had to provide a $20 deposit to use the phone (although they had my credit card details), however I could not do this until morning as reception was closed (since 6 PM unbelievably!). She suggested a nearby payphone but as I had just arrived in the country I had no coins either. Her response was "Not my problem, mate." Clearly taking 5 minutes to ensure I had a meal after 14 hours of travelling was just too much to ask for. I have never been treated so rudely in 31 countries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lodge Motel

Address: 158C Martyn Street, Manunda, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Manunda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Lodge Motel is owned by Young Australia League Inc, an organisation that has been supporting Australia’s youth since 1908. The motel has 37 rooms,7 wheelchair accessible rooms,and 4 self-contained rooms.We also have 64 seat dining room,two conference rooms,business centre,internet lounge and games room.Our facilities also include a beach vollyball court,bbq,sun sheltered pool and basketball hoop.We have on site parking with free wifi.Some organisations that frequently use our services are,Australian School Camps Association,Mining Companies,Tafe Colleges,Queensland Health,Church organisations,Sporting organisations,and the Australian Defence Force. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.