We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem with reservation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda to your Saves list
Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Saenz de la Pena S/N | Zona El Cocal, Playa Chachalacas 91666, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Problem with reservation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My bf and I made a reservation for the long weekend, the room we reserved according to the details of booking, was scenic garden views and a queen size bed.. But when we arrived we had a room all the way in the corner, about gardens well only the washed clothes of the neighbor was in sight and the bed was a matrimonial.. We spoke with the reception girl and the guy in charge of reservations... But basically the answer was "we cannot help this is what we have and well what we can do .is to lower the price" but still the price was way too high for a room like the one they gave us, so at the end we decided to just leave... Is a shame cause in general the hotel looked nice and we were really looking forward to stayed there.. But the prices simply weren't according to what u get..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Nice pool
Good services
Very expansive restaurants (2)
Dirty beach (plastic)
Loud music (stange for a spa resort)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate our 2nd anniversary, this is a pretty good hotel at
a very reasonable price, although is not easy to get there once you do, you can
totally forget about the city, no cars, no lights and zero noises!! We took one
of the suites and believe me, they have the best bed you can ask for!! Jacuzzy with ocean
view, big flat tv, control for air conditioner and light, mini fridge and
everything you need to just relax!! You can do some sports, rent a motorcicle,
jeep, etc. We didn't do anything of that because just stayed 2 days.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The hotel is very small but comfortable. I went with my fiancé and we have a great time. The SPA is beautiful, a little expensive, but the TEMAZCAL was grateful. All workers inside are so kind, they were always asking if we need something. They exceeded our expectations. The girl that gave us the TEMAZCAL loves what she does and it was an unforgettable experience. The food was delicious. Also there is a bar with billiards with good music. We also went with ATV’s to sand dunes. We spent a funny and romantic time in a high-quality place. We relax and have a lot of entertaining

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We went for a couple of days to Chachalacas, took our 2 boys (2&4 yrs.) and it was a great experience, lots to do at the hotel, loved the minigolf, it was quiet we went during the week so it was mostly us at the pool, the beach is nice, the pools are clean and my kids loved the heated onel!
The food at the restaurant is good but the service it's a little slow my hubby had to wait 45 min for a fish!! i really liked the breakfast and i totally recommend agua de horchata.. buenisima!
We would love to come back just as a couple to enjoy all the activities.. seems like a very romantic place..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I expected a quite Resort&Spa hotel and got a noisy Family place.....
Very small room with a Jacuzzi in the bathroom which never worked, no hot water, a coffee maker but no coffee or cups (also not after mentioning it at the front desk) and a locked up minibar. The pool was invaded by screaming kids and not enough lying chairs at the beach.
There was no hotel manager available and only 1 person in the entire house who spoke english.....
All in all a big disapointment!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Chachalacas hotels

Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

I stayed at Punta Real 10 days ago and was pleasantly surprised. This part of Mexico is not very 'touristy' by International standards. I'm told that mostly people from Mexico city and Puebla go there - seeking the beach. This hotel is located in a tiny town called Chachalacas (the name of a very loud chicken-like animal). The town itself doesn't have much but the hotel is a destination. It is new, in very great shape, has two pools (one indoor, one out), a Spa, a bar, a roof lounge (only for adults!), a beach ..and the funest part: DUNES next door! In fact, this is their thing. They rent four-wheel motorcycles with ALL the equipment and take you through the dunes. This is quite entertaining and the Spa is a great amenity once you return to the hotel. My personal only regret is that it's a family hotel (now made better with rooftop jacuzzis and reading room only for adults) but if you want to experience something totally different in Mexico, this is the place. Oh..and the staff is very friendly and helpful! I stayed in a suite that had a jacuzzi on my private patio and a nice view. You must also know that from October to February the weather can be chilly and cloudy – thus the indoor pool.

  • Liked — The comfort. All services are covered and well done
  • Disliked — The restaurant was a bit boring (although food was good - house bread is very good!) and there were no other venues for dining.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda

Address: Saenz de la Pena S/N | Zona El Cocal, Playa Chachalacas 91666, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Playa Chachalacas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Chachalacas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda Veracruz/Playa Chachalacas, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan The Handmade Hotel Collection Playa Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.