We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & loud” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malpensa Airport - Terminal 1, Malpensa, 21010 Ferno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferno
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Poor service & loud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked in for 1 nights stay at the end of our european holiday, this was one of the more expensive hotels and higher star rated but was the worst we have stayed at our whole trip. Our check in was easy, our room nice and big like you would expect from a Sheraton hotel, the television remote batteries were flat, we went down to reception and were told they will come up to fix it. A staff member promptly arrived but informed us they could not change the batteries as there techniction had gone home??? The WiFi which is stupidly expensive, 12 Euro for 24 hours does not even work, we signed on and it takes 20 minutes to download 1 email, this should be free if it's that poor. The hotel is loud, well at least where we were, our room was above a kitchen or staff working area, we were kept awake until 2am by staff being loud and banging things around. The rooms aren't double glazed so not sound proof, I understand we are in an airport so there would be noise but seems they have spent so much money on the hotel looking good architecturally and being so big but should have spent some money making it sound proof and comfortable for their guests, seeing that most people are here on stopovers and want sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    630
    268
    82
    53
See reviews for
240
396
136
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely everything in Italy is falling apart at the seams. What a run-down dump the country has become! This hotel however, is trying - not entirely successfully - to keep the rot at bay.

We stayed here 2 nights prior to our return flight to Australia. Physically attached to the airport, you couldn't ask for a more convenient overnight stop. Malpensa airport is close enough to the mountains you can see them from the hotel - on a clear day. While originally planning to visit Lago Maggiore, the weather turned against us, so we opted for this hotel after a week in Florence.

It helped of course that we got upgraded to a suite, so the room was very nice thank you. Also, the Club benefits were fabulous. The Club Lounge here certainly does a better range for breakfast than most Clubs I've visited.

Parking is very confusing - and there does not seem to be a safe place to stop right outside the hotel. Also - the hotel is very long, so you may have quite a hike to your room! However, for an airport stay - absolutely on the money.

Room Tip: Go for a Club room if you can. One of the better Club Lounges here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've read the various reviews about this hotel and started with some skepticism. Nonetheless, I went ahead and stayed in the hotel prior to my flight the next day.

Checking in - We drove a rental car back to the airport and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was easy to locate by following the instructions to Terminal 1. The hotel had a bay where you can off load your bags, check-in with your room keys, and then returned the rental car just around the corner (100 m away). Very convenient. Check-in was no hassle. We were treated well and the check in staff came out and helped us with the luggage to the trolley. Check in staff was very attentive and helpful. Thou being a *Wood platinum guest, we were pleasantly surprised with the upgrade to diplomat suite.

Room - The room was a long walk but we were very plesantly surprised by both the condition of the hitel and the rooms. The room is very well kept and neat. Large and well equipped. Bed was very comfortable and linens are clean. The room was very nicely decorated and we were happy wi it.

Breakfast - We had breakfast at the club lounge. Assortment and selection was good, offering both continental and warm selections. Ambience was great as the lounge space is very large (perhaps more than 2000 sqft). The lounge was very modern and chic and was well kept.

Overall impression - would definitely recommend and come back again. I've seen ratings of 2 or 3 stars (out of 5). I'd probably rate it 4 / 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Well, this hotel experience was out of this world we were treated to a surprising situation in as much even being a member of starwood we never expected to be upgraded to a super suite with all the benifits of club rooms. For the experience of a lifetime I would recomend a stay at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

usually airport hotels are to be avoided. however this is excellent. nice Italian style rooms, good executive floor and bar. good restaurant.

right on terminal 1 easy to access and even close to car rental return.

Room Tip: Starwood has a campaign to try a suite. they give a discount. it is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I presume that people stay here for the convenience of being next to the airport, which is really the only thing this hotel has to offer. Check in took an unacceptable15 minutes. Tried the club room to which I had access and there was no hot food left. It then took 10 minutes to get through to room service. All very unimpressive. Would not stay here again if I can avoid it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMilan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Greenpark1,

We are an airport hotel and for this reason we are subjected to peaks of high frequency and in spite
our efforts it is difficult to satisfy all our guests, although we have streamlined the procedures at check in ; we are sorry if you had to wait long time in line.
Our Club Lounge is subjected to different times of food services , starting from breakfast in the morning to hot food served till early evening, while dry snacks and drinks are always available.

Please accept our apologies for any lack of service you have received, which has affected your memories and impression on us, we hope to do any better on your next visit and maybe to see us in a different way.

Thank you for staying with us and for review on Trip Advisor !
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Sheraton Hotel in Milan International Airport (MXP) is just in front of the airport doors. A fairly modern style hotel, it was built few years ago, and presents the most contemporary services that travellers want: swimming pool, restaurants until 11pm, 24/7 room service and great rooms. A very good place to rest between two planes, or if you need to come the night before an early flight. One good thing about the rooms, is that they are very noise proof, and although you are sleeping next to the airport, you hardly hear any airplane.

Great staff and lobby. I was very impressed with the size of the room, I stayed at the western part of the hotel. The room looks very similar to a US size room, and the bath room is very big, offering all kings of products for showering, shampooing, mouth bathing and so on... It is the type of hotel, I have no problems recommanding to everyone that comes to Malpensa. Also, I was amazed at the good price, which makes this hotel very competitive with other much less quality hotel in the area who, at times, could even be more expensive that this one. Good thing of course about this one, you wake up, have a good breakfast, and walk to the airport. Only 3 minutes from the airport doors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Malpensa Airport - Terminal 1, Malpensa, 21010 Ferno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Ferno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not just a hotel at the airport: it is right inside Terminal 1, moments away from the gates. Perfectly soundproofed rooms shut out all the noise and leave you with a stunning view of Monte Rosa. Enjoy moments of pure wellness in the SPA and its indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel And Conference Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.