We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient but at a high cost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malpensa Terminal 1 S.S. 336, 21010 Ferno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferno
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very convenient but at a high cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The convenience of the location of this hotel is certainly appealing and overall our stay was pleasant BUT as we had to pay for two adjoining rooms to accomodate our family it was a very expensive nights stay. Was not impressed therefore to learn when all ready with bathers, goggles and towel in hand that they had implemented a "no cap no swim" policy and charged 6 euros per person for a cap! As we were only staying one night I decided not to indulge in 24 euros for the 4 of us to have a quick swim!

The pool story may seem petty but after 6 weeks of travelling around Italy this was our last nights accomodation and we had thought it would be our real "splurge"! Turned out to be nothing particularly special except for the convenience of walking straight from your hotel to the checkin lounge.

Room Tip: Demand non smoking room if you dont smoke. We requested non smoking but our room still reeked of tob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear J,
we are sorry you have experienced some discomfort while staying with us after your long holiday in Italy. With reference to the swimming pool, we request our Guests to wear caps for hygienic reasons, and we offer the opportunity to buy the cap, only in the case the Guests haven’t got their own cap. We hope to see you again and that you will give another chance to meet your expectations.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    682
    286
    89
    56
See reviews for
256
429
141
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Located adjacent to the main terminal building, couldn't really ask for more location-wise from an airport hotel. The rooms are superb, very spacious and finished to a high standard.

My only complaint would be the lack of free wifi, which this day and age is poor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear 7...,
thanks a lot for your comments and for having shared your experience with us. With reference to the wifi, we have a space called Link@Sheraton where you can enjoy 45 minutes internet free, it is a public space we provide in order to let our Guests, very often business travelers, have chances to meet other people and friends. We hope next time you will enjoy that opportunity.
See you soon, .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Milan Sheraton in the Malpensa Airport is just one year old, done in stylish contemporary furnishings. Because our flight from Italy back to USA left in the morning, we turned in the rental car at the airport and spent the last night here. We literally walked a few steps out of the hotel into the airport terminal. The room was reasonably priced and included an enormous buffet breakfast. We would stay here every time when leaving from Milan, the Lake District, or any place within a few hours' drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear V70,
thank you for having invested your time to give some logistic informations about our position. And let us tell you that we are glad you had a nice end of your holiday with us.
We sincerely hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Because we had a 7 am flight out of Milan, we decided to stay near the airport to get a little extra sleep. This couldn't have been more convenient. It was actually in Terminal 1 which we flew out of. It was a Sheraton so had all the modern conveniences and the Sheraton beds and showers. We arrived late at night but were able to get food at the hotel bar. The only issue with this hotel was that it's only 3 floors, which means that the hallways are exceptionally long. Our room was near the end of the farthest hallway from the elevators and it was a long walk but the hotel was modern, clean and the staff was friendly and professional.

I wouldn't stay there if I was actually visiting Milan as a tourist as it's about an hour train ride away, but it was fantastically convenient for a morning flight out of Malpensa.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the elevator might be better. You'd still not be close enough to the elevator to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear G,
thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and your comments on our staff that makes all efforts to always meet Guests expectations. We would like to just add something to your comments. In fact it is true that our location can be not the best to visit Milan, but there is the Malpensa Express that every 30 minutes goes to Cadorna Station, 5 minutes walking from Duomo square, and that takes 29 minutes to arrive downtown leaving 20 mt far from our main door entrance! In the hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Have read a lot of scathing reviews on this site about the Sheraton but our experience was that it's a great property. We had been staying in Milan in a good but very cramped hotel in a fairly grotty part of the city near Central station so when we got to the Sheraton the space and the design features were very very welcome and we thought superb. Interesting architecturally and very conducive to chilling out. after schlepping the streets of Milan. This was especially so after a tour of Terminal 1 that we did to orientate ourselves for our early morning flight.

so for us the Sheraton was an oasis. The room was huge and in fact all the spaces are huge and for us this was a delight after the previous 3 days of being fairly cramped in Milan both in our hotel and just in the high density of everything in the city. The bed was like sleeping on a crisp cloud of high thread cotton and there was no noise whatsoever. Tea and coffe making in the room was very welcome.

We were starving and just wanted to soak in the huge tub so we ordered room service and it was promised in small print on the bottom of the menu that if they were more than 30 minutes delivering the food it would be free ! ( I am marrried to a man who always reads the fine print :-)
The food arrived after 45 minutes and so it was free as we held them to it ! The food was only so- so and overpriced so we were happy with the outcome. The wine was good.

The bus to terminal 2 is right outside the door and runs very reliably every 7 minutes or if leaving from terminal 1 you are just a few steps from check in. Great place for convenience and a great night's sleep. if you don't like the service then a few well placed good natured complaints usually get things sorted we found.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, General Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear SwedenOzzie,
we are glad to have contributed to a better end of your stay in Milan, and we thank you a lot for the precise advices to other travelers. We hope that, next time you come to Milan, you will chose again our Hotel for your stay, as there is a fast service from/to Cadorna Station, 5 minutes of walk from the Duomo, leaving every 30 minutes from the station just opposite the hotel and taking only 29 minutes to arrive downtown! Warm regards to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have stayed in Sheraton Milan Malpensa at 1st of Oct. We have checked in at 1AM. The reception was busyer than I expected but they had enough front desk staffs (two) if you consider the time. Room was more than big enough and quality of room and facility was great.
The best part of this hotel was location. you don't even need any shuttle or what so ever. it is right at the airport that connect you with terminal 1 directly. If you have morning flight. You will be able to check-in for your flight first and have a rest at the hotel. However, breakfast was not good enough in terms of value for money. It is descent meal with freshly cooked egg dishs but I would question myself about the valu for money (But If you are looking for quality meal at the airport, this breakfast will be the answer since there are no good restaurents at the airport anyway)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, General Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear A.,
we are pleased you have been our guest on the October 1st, just for our 1st birthday!! And we are happy you have enjoyed your stay and our convenience. Happy also you have enjoyed your breakfast, we do hope next time you’ll have the opportunity to arrive in time to enjoy our Wine tasting at our spectacular Wine Tower, accompanied with finger food specially prepared by our Chef. Warm regards, and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and i showed up at 11am, knowing that we might not be able to check in but figured we'd try. There were 2 staff checking people in and 7 STAFF STANDING AROUND. We counted them as we stood there. There was 1 person in front of us in line as we waited in front of a loooonnnngg check in counter. One of the people not working the desk came out and said you're next. About 5 minutes later we noted that someone came in and got behind one of the people being checked in. No progress was being made on checkins, another 3-4 minutes later another person cut in the line behind the person at the front desk. Finally I got one of the people standing around and said, you know we were in line before those people even came up here. Out of the blue the young guy (receptionist who still hadn't finished checking in the one customer) in a loud voice so everyone could hear said, "Checkin is not until 3pm anyway!" He was 20-25 feet away and i wasn't even talking with him! Okay, so 2 things, that was flat out rude , and obviously his managers or supervisors didn't train him to keep his mouth shut and be polite. Secondly they did not do any line control at all. As we sat first in line and people lining up by not using the line that was formed i thought this could go on forever. A manager did come out when we complained and since my wife was an elite member said they would upgrade us. Really? With a View of the Alps. really? Okay so if you know Milan don't buy that "View of the Alps" routine, smog whatever ,you coudn't see them. Definitely not worth extra money they charge for a view room. You're at the airport not some scenic resort. Secondly they put us in a room so far away we almost needed another flight to get there. Service was slow at the bar at night. But primarily it was the receptionist guy checking people in and yelling out loud that ticked me off the most.

Room Tip: Be sure you ask for something near an elevator so you don't have a half mile walk to get to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWMilan, General Manager at Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear DaveandJean,
just few words to answer your comments: “we do apologize for the discomfort experienced while being checked-in”. In this case we completely missed to transfer our main concepts. We have taken in the right consideration your comments above and we will reinforce, even more, our training procedures. In the hope to have another chance to let us provide the service you expect from us, let us send you our warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferno
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.6 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
0.7 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
2.8 mi away
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
#6 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Malpensa Terminal 1 S.S. 336, 21010 Ferno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Ferno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not just a hotel at the airport: it is right inside Terminal 1, moments away from the gates. Perfectly soundproofed rooms shut out all the noise and leave you with a stunning view of Monte Rosa. Enjoy moments of pure wellness in the SPA and its indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel And Conference Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.