We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive Roman History without the Crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volubilis

Volubilis
Moulay Idriss Zerhoun | 30 km 30 north of Meknes, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$970*
and up
8-Night Northern Morocco Tour from Casablanca to...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roman ruins contain a victory arch, impressive basilica and spectacular mosaics.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expansive Roman History without the Crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

On our May 2014 trip through Morocco we included Volubilis since it was generally on the way back after we toured the Middle Atlas. Not expecting much we were very impressed with the expanse of the major North African Roman city that once thrived here. The work done by what we understand to be primarily French archeologists to bring back the mosaic tile floors and luxury house layouts was terrific. Our guide stressed that limited Moroccan training in archeology and sporadic budgeting has mode progress slow but the potential for future re-discovery is exciting. There is so much left to uncover.

They are about to finish what looks like a fabulous site museum similar in architectural style to the new one at the Parthenon albeit on a much smaller scale. If you go in the fall it should be open. We hired a local guide who was very knowledgeable in both the history and the restoration so I highly recommend you doing the same. Very fair price and where else will get that kind of context on the sites you are seeing.

Perhaps the best part of the visit is the lack of the massive crowds in European sites like this. You can tour at your leisure, take photos from various angles and linger at the more interesting points while enjoying a low stress and relaxed setting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    209
    47
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had no idea what to expect when our driver, Hamid, headed us towards Volubilis, but thankfully he knew what an outstanding site this is. We arrived in the afternoon and were met by the most expert guide who took us through the amazing buildings and mosaics, explaining everything and making the whole experience so worthwhile. It is incredible that you are allowed to walk around these treasures and get a real insight into the Roman way of leisure so many centuries ago. We would have missed this unique experience if our guides from Morocco Expert Tours hadn't recommended it - so glad they did. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC ROMAN MOSAIC RUINS !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Imagine this is 2000 years old.Abanded by the Romans about 1500 years ago and the floor mosaics still look the same today ! -lying freely and out in the open for everybody to see and touch.
No wonder it is a UNESCO HERITIGE SITE.
On a rainy day or if you splatter some of your valuable water on them on a hot day- they come alive just as when they were made.This is due to the fact that every coloured stone is made fully from stone and not coloured tiles.
I have travelled a few places - and never seen so utterly beautifully
Preserved mosaic floors -and so many !!
DONT MISS IT !
PS.
It is worth your while to pay for a guide as there is a lot of interresting
history.You will then happily spend over 1-1,5 hours here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“One of the top 5 sites to see in Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

One of the highlights of my recent trip to Morocco was visiting the ancient ruins at Volubilis. Prior to the visit, I was highly anticipating the Volubilis ruins and they exceeded my expectations.

This ancient Roman city dates back to 3rd Century B.C. While I had done some research about Volubilis prior to the visit, the tour of the site was enhanced by a guide who had an excellent knowledge of the site and helped us distinguish the different sections of the city. There are ruins of homes, with remnants of baths and intricate tiled floors. The remnants of the structures also suggested the relative wealth of the occupants. There was even a structure with an interesting carved stone that is believed to have been a brothel.

Most impressive are massive columns, preserved walls of mausoleums and the ruins of the temple of Jupiter that faces a shrine that was probably used for animal sacrifices.

Note that visiting this site involves a lot of walking; the day my wife and I visited the sky was clear and the sun was shining brightly.

If you are visiting Morocco, Volubilis is a must see attraction. Don't forget to bring your walking shoes, water and a hat! It can get hot out there but should not be missed; take your time so you can see as much of the Volubilis ruins as possible.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very impressive large Roman ruins. The walk to, around and from the ruins is comfortable and easy. The scenery around the site is wonderful. We did not take a guide and used a guide book which was enough. Don't miss the mosaic - it is next to the single cypress tree that stands out. Watch for the storks and their huge nests on top of the pillars.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volubilis also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volubilis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.