We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque at sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volubilis

Volubilis
Moulay Idriss Zerhoun | 30 km 30 north of Meknes, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$695*
and up
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roman ruins contain a victory arch, impressive basilica and spectacular mosaics.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Picturesque at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were so lucky to be able to view these ancient Roman ruins at sunset. After driving two hours from Rabat to see this site we were not disappointed. Our local guide was very knowledgeable and we learned about the beautiful mosaics and ancient city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    178
    40
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
University City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you like Roman ruins (think Ephesus), you'll love Volubilis. Not as well preserved as some European Roman ruins, the site is quite large, and you'll need an hour or so to take it all in. Don't miss the mosaics in the various houses, some of them are really spectacular. The museum is unfinished and is a disappointment - you're better off going to the museum in Rabat to see the Volubilis exhibits. Guides can be hit and miss - we had one who seemed intent on finishing up the tour so he could get to the next tourist, and ran off in the middle of our tour! The basilica is majestic, as is the stork. You can also get a good view of Moulay Idriss from the grounds.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This is a worth visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

From Meknes, It can be reached in 45 minutes by car. I visited this place in my two days visit in Meknes. The receptionist of Riad Meknes, where i was staying, recommended one taxi driver to take me there. The driver was nice, friendly, knows little English. Entering this site, I just needed to pay 10 Dirham only. The place is huge, with many Ancient Roman Empire ruins in it. But, there were not so much information and story about the place. This is the reason why . I couldn't make 'Excellent' rating for this site. So, for knowing much what the function of the ruin was, hiring the guide could be a good idea. You can find them many in front of entering gate. I paid 100 Dirham for almost one and half hour walking. The guide was so informative, spoke English fluently, and he helped to take my pictures. This place is absolutely one of the places you must visit when you're in Meknes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Must visit from fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A must visit if you are in fes. A good balance from the hectic fes medina. Just an hour away you will be transported to the remaining roman ruins. Do take the guide service as they will provide full and useful explanation of the remnants. Hard to decipher them on your own. Visit in the late afternoon and you'll be able to enjoy the sunset view. Quite breathtaking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A real gem in a lovely location. This was a much bigger site than I expected and I really enjoyed my visit partly down the excellent local guide. An extensive site with the remains of many buildings , 2 arches and the main street it gave a wonderful insight into an important Roman town on the fringes of empire. Perhaps the highlight were the beautiful mosaics in situ, as vibrant and beautiful as the day they were created. If you take a tour of Morocco you will rightly be taken here or else definitely visit this amazing site.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volubilis also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volubilis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.