We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great green haven of calm !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin

Le Jardin
32, Souk El jeld Sidi Abdelaziz | Marrakech Medina, Morocco
+212 (0) 5 24 37 82 95
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: a newcomer. This new restaurant in the old town of Marrakech is welcome as a calm oasis. Coulour are all in green and black( and white ) there is a large patio with a slight market feeling , then lots of terrasses ,and alcoves. As it was quite new when I went there lin February it feels a bit empty , but with Easter holidays approaching it is certainly a great place to relax during your shopping spree in the souks
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great green haven of calm !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We saw this restaurant through the discreet open door walking home from Cafe Arabe one night on our last trip. It was beautifully lit with candles and we thought we must go there next time. Unfortunately neither of us could remember where it was so when someone at our riad suggested a place for lunch we were delighted to discover it was our mystery restaurant !

The place is beautiful inside , lots of green everywhere, tiles , plants , lovely tables and chairs. We went right to the terrace at the top. Service was friendly and they laughed at our gasps when the food arrived , the vegetable ratatouille my friend had was an artistic masterpiece ! We all enjoyed our food and had a nice glass of rose. Very reasonably priced , would love to have dinner here but I think the menu is the same so maybe next trip we will have dinner and not lunch.

Worth a trip even if just for a quiet drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    204
    57
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Le Jardin is great. Had a fantastic lunch on the terrace before we left Marrakech, beautifully cooked food ....best mash I've ever tasted! Relaxing place for drinks in the evening too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“eating amongst the palm trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

or in winter time by their log fire, the grillade was very good, the staff were great and our bill very sensible

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Safe haven from hassle Souk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We had stumbled across this place while try to get off the streets as the hassle and bassle was to much for us. We saw the door to La Jardin and as I peeked through I was hesitant at first but the wife insisted. Wow, stepped in to what seem tranquility.
Stuff were polite and allowed us to move inside as it got cold outside.
Food was nice and the price wasn't that bad for the place.
Will visit again if I come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome setting, great food, nice break from Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have just come back from dinner and thought it was great. Our riad manager recommended this place. From the outside it is a solid black door - nothing else. Open the door and you have stepped into a massive yard full of bamboo trees about 15 metres high with nice tables scattered around and between them. Roof top tables available as well plus private glass rooms if your cold. Dinner came to dhs345 which is ok, but compared to food carts in the square is expensive. Dinner included harris soup, lamb tagine (so good!) vegetable tart, juices, bottle water and desert. Portions were fine. Satisfactorily full. Service was perfectly good. Safe area as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.