We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin

Le Jardin
32, Souk El jeld Sidi Abdelaziz | Marrakech Medina, Morocco
+212 (0) 5 24 37 82 95
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: a newcomer. This new restaurant in the old town of Marrakech is welcome as a calm oasis. Coulour are all in green and black( and white ) there is a large patio with a slight market feeling , then lots of terrasses ,and alcoves. As it was quite new when I went there lin February it feels a bit empty , but with Easter holidays approaching it is certainly a great place to relax during your shopping spree in the souks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant dining experience away from the hustle and bustle. Not as good value as nearby restaurants but still cheap for European standards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    147
    123
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a garden restaurant in the madness of the souks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place was recommended to me by the lady who runs the riad I stayed in. I didn't go for a couple of days because I (wrongly) thought it would be "just another recommendation" - I was wrong! Loved it so much I ended up going there about 4 times in total during my stay.

Service was good and attentive (and the same could not be said for numerous other places I ate in Marrakech), food was always very good (think perhaps more relaxed and informal than formal dining) and the places itself has a fantastic, relaxed atmosphere - mostly due to the large plantation in the central courtyard but also to the multiple levels it has. One night there was an old film being shown on an outdoor wall upstairs with sofas aplenty to take it in. WiFi works well.

It's, from what i could fathom, owned/run by the same French people who operate the, equally worth a look, Terrace des Epices and Cafe des Epices.

Really enjoyed going there, as did the people I took there, and would go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A truly stunning place to eat a wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This restaurant is huge but also very intimate due to the amount of plants and greenery. We had trouble picking the best place as there is are 2 roofterraces, booth's and a ground floor in between the trees. The location is great, just a small walk away from the busy square and it feels like a different world inside. The staff is super friendly and the food is great. This restaurant is a bit more expensive but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just ok and a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

It is ok for a break. In the terrace was too warm with a terrible background music that was a mix of everything. The waiters were always stressed walking from one side to the other. But they were nice, it was clean and food was ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

A lovely oasis of greenery and peace in the midst of the madness of the Souk! Rabits playing the gardens. Would be a good place for children to run around a bit after being on a short leash in the souks. Reasonably priced and tasty food. Not far from the Museum of Marrakech and the Ben Youssef Medersa. Check out their website: lejardin.ma

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.