We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atlas mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Atlas Mountains

High Atlas Mountains
Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“atlas mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

good day trip , visit a berber house on the way , and the chance of camel ride if you wish , extremely good lunch by the river , the climb up to the waterfall is very steep , and very tiring , you must be careful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    50
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I took a 4x4 tour through the Atlas Mountains and loved it. The winding roads and interconnected villages was a great escape from the bustling centre of Marrakech.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“garden of eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Splurged and stayed at Richard Branson's piece of heaven. An air conditioned tent with glass wall facing the mountains with private deck with its own dipping pool. Perfect for 1 or 2 nights. Relax or trek into the mountains thru Berber villages. Food expensive and mediocre

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Toubkal Peak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

very hard climb to the top ..... go prepared.
freezing at the top in July.
don't camp at the refuge, get a bed and sit at the table to eat.
we sat by candle light in a yurt while the cook chucked lord knows what in a pot although it tasted fine.
one shower at the refuge for about 100 climbers and only 2 holes in the ground for toilets.
the French refuge next door may have been better than the one we used.
very noisy camping during Ramadan as the guides and cooks are up all night talking and praying and eating and shouting from tent to tent. not great when you're up at 4.30am to make the final ascent.
all in all pretty grueling!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we had a lovely day tour to the highest part of atlas mountain in the north of africa. we visit different vilages and we visited the fantastic place which is Richard BARANSON KASBAH.
we booked it with the tour guide Rashid mobile is 0021274205206

Ask Rashid for places to eat and drink or things to do, he is very very helpful with great English. We were very grateful for his service!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Atlas Mountains also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to High Atlas Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Atlas Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added High Atlas Mountains to your Saves list