We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Atlas tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Atlas Mountains

High Atlas Mountains
Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit High Atlas Mountains like an insider
Private Tour
$384*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Day Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High Atlas tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous views--snow on the mountain tops. We were fascinated by the little roadside towns and the people, often families, who were talking alongside the narrow highway.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    58
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mountain goat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Private taxi arranged through Riad took us to the mountains. So much cooler than Marrakesh which was 45 degrees. Visited the waterfall which necessitated a local guide. Make sure you wear sensible shoes. Some visitors were wearing flip-flops clambering over rocks. I slipped once coming down and have a lovely bruise to show for it. Need to be fit! The waterfall was not much to talk about when compared to the waterfalls I have seen elsewhere eg: Iceland. Afterwards had lunch sitting at a table in the shallow part of the river. A lovely experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Driss and high-atlas-guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Driss was an excellent guide, judging how much to interface and how much to leave us to ourselves. Excellent walk brilliant lunch. Highly recommend him.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Atlas Mountain with Driss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been back from two trips- Imlil and Ouirgane valley- with Driss last May. It was the most relaxing, fun and well organised trips. We read about Driss from this precise website and thought to research about Driss. We found him! And found that he was a good guide.

We were travelling with our little toddler on our backpack and stayed in a Riad slightly further out from town. Driss was happy to pick us up even though it was slightly out of his way. He lives in Imlil so visiting his hometown was essential to understand the local context of where he grew up. Although so, we highly recommend Ouirgane valley if you're only planning to have one trip to the High Atlas Mountain. Driss organised a local guy Mohammed and his mule Katherina for the trek and every minute of the walk was just fantastic. We were even invited to Mohammed's home to have tea and lunch.

Driss took us around in the pace that suited us with our constant breaks to tend to our toddler on our back. He was also very good at interacting and playing with our little one which makes the trip for enjoyable for us.

Here's his website and we hope you have a lovely trip there someday. http://www.high-atlas-guide.com/

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“stunning views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to the mountains as part of a trip organised by Thomson. The views were stunning and even though the roads were narrow with steep drops I felt completely safe in the hands of our driver.
We were fortunate to visit a Berber house where the owner made us homemade bread, olive oil and Moroccan tea which was a lovely touch.
Well worth the visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Atlas Mountains also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to High Atlas Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Atlas Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.