We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain goat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Atlas Mountains

High Atlas Mountains
, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$401*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Day Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Essex, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mountain goat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Private taxi arranged through Riad took us to the mountains. So much cooler than Marrakesh which was 45 degrees. Visited the waterfall which necessitated a local guide. Make sure you wear sensible shoes. Some visitors were wearing flip-flops clambering over rocks. I slipped once coming down and have a lovely bruise to show for it. Need to be fit! The waterfall was not much to talk about when compared to the waterfalls I have seen elsewhere eg: Iceland. Afterwards had lunch sitting at a table in the shallow part of the river. A lovely experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    67
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Driss and high-atlas-guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Driss was an excellent guide, judging how much to interface and how much to leave us to ourselves. Excellent walk brilliant lunch. Highly recommend him.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Atlas Mountain with Driss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been back from two trips- Imlil and Ouirgane valley- with Driss last May. It was the most relaxing, fun and well organised trips. We read about Driss from this precise website and thought to research about Driss. We found him! And found that he was a good guide.

We were travelling with our little toddler on our backpack and stayed in a Riad slightly further out from town. Driss was happy to pick us up even though it was slightly out of his way. He lives in Imlil so visiting his hometown was essential to understand the local context of where he grew up. Although so, we highly recommend Ouirgane valley if you're only planning to have one trip to the High Atlas Mountain. Driss organised a local guy Mohammed and his mule Katherina for the trek and every minute of the walk was just fantastic. We were even invited to Mohammed's home to have tea and lunch.

Driss took us around in the pace that suited us with our constant breaks to tend to our toddler on our back. He was also very good at interacting and playing with our little one which makes the trip for enjoyable for us.

Here's his website and we hope you have a lovely trip there someday. http://www.high-atlas-guide.com/

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stunning views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to the mountains as part of a trip organised by Thomson. The views were stunning and even though the roads were narrow with steep drops I felt completely safe in the hands of our driver.
We were fortunate to visit a Berber house where the owner made us homemade bread, olive oil and Moroccan tea which was a lovely touch.
Well worth the visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great hike and trek but challenegs wiht trekking company (Terre d'Ame) owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a mixed review. We (my wife and I) signed up for a 5 day/4 night trek to climb M'Goun in Morocco. The trek itself was fantastic - great scenery, outstanding guide (Ibrahim). Ibrahim has 25 years experience guiding, has a great sense of humor and cares immensely about taking care of his clients. The food prepared by the cook/muleteer (Aisa) was fantastic - created full three-course varied dinners including couscous, tagine, pasta and homemade bread. Couldn't have been better.

The disappointing side was dealing with Mohammed Imharkin, the owner of the company. He was quite disorganized. We had arranged for sleeping bags to be packed for us and we paid for them. He forgot to include them and we ended up sleeping somewhat uncomfortably under blankets. When I first mentioned this to him, he tried to say it was my fault for not reminding him. Later, he apologized and said he had too much going on so he forgot. He also did not let the cook and guide know that we had requested vegetarian food - they were surprised but somehow they pulled off the great meals. We also relied on him for transportation to the start/end point of the trip in Imighil. He ended up showing up very late to collect us from Marrekech - seemingly because he was juggling other clients. It was too late to leave, so we missed our first night of the trip. And for both of the rides to and from Imighil (which we paid for), he stopped for 2 hours to take care of his banking and internet business while we just waited. And the one night we stayed at his gite, the hot water was broken and he didn't serve dinner until 9:30 PM because he failed to arrange to have a cook until the last minute (his wife usually cooked, but she was away).

Because we had a great experience with the trek and our guides, it is not that we would not recommend trekking with this outfit. But if you do, confirm all arrangements both in advance and on-site and perhaps arrange your own travel to Imighil. Consider staying at another place in the valley instead of in his gite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Atlas Mountains also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to High Atlas Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Atlas Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.