We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driss - High atlas guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Atlas Mountains

High Atlas Mountains
, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$401*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Day Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Driss - High atlas guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend in Morroco which included trekking in the beautiful Atlas Mountains. Driss was our excellent guide who was knowledgable, helpful and patient. His English is excellent and he adapted the itinerary to meet our requests. He set a pace appropriate for our group and was always checking to make sure we were OK. The scenery was beautiful, the villages delightful and the food delicious. We only wished we had longer and are all keen to go back and explore further.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    67
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Driss Lachguer - High Atlas Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just finished a seven day trek with Driss. He took me through three different valleys and an ascent of Mount Toubkal. Driss is very knowledgeable about the area and I never had to worry about a thing. Driss handled everything including the food and the accomodations each night. Additionally, Driss was always asking me if I was comfortable with the pace and assured me that I could take as many breaks as I want. I highly recommend Driss as a guide when trekking through the Atlas mountains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“The Amazing Atlas Mountains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We toured through the Atlas mountains for three days and took hundreds of pictures. The first suprise was the neat, alpine style village of Ifrane, built by the french for colonial retreats. The crisp mountain air a nice change from the heat and dust of the coastal cities.The Atlas mountains seem to have spawned millions of rocks. The fields are covered in rocks and this building material is in use everywhere. The natural beauty of the Atlas mountains came as a real suprise and I recommend a visit here, on tour or individually. There are many campers in hired vans doing the touring thing through the mountains. The village are picturesque and remind us of the hard life it is here. The Ziz vally is a true Oasis and a welcome patch of green in a brown and dry landscape.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We did a few trips throught the Atlas mountains to see the argan oil being made. Still by hand and lots of hard work for the ladies who grind and make the paste which is turned into oil.
Was nice to see the sheperds and their goats eating from the argan trees . Only place in the world where this tree grows.
The roads by car are well made and can be busy. They seem to go on forever. coming down from the mountains and the trees everywhere then all of a sudden the beautiful unspoiled atlantic sprawls in front of you. simply stunning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just beautiful, serene and cultured”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Perfect surreal place. Visit marrakech and gain a true feeling of the city. A lovely serene environment, unexplainable. Some lovely stops selling drinks and small gifts, and loads of different hills and rocks set out leadng to new woodland.

The best bit has to be the climb to the top, washing off with the cool water from the waterfalls and seeing the whole city beyond you. It hs a mix of locals and tourists, not too loud but has a brilliant friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended visit with a great cultural insight!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Atlas Mountains also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to High Atlas Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Atlas Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.