We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't want to miss out on this experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Jad Mahal

Palais Jad Mahal
10 Rue Haroune Erracid | Hivernage, 40000, Morocco
212-24-436-984
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You don't want to miss out on this experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table here after receiving recommendation from someone at our hotel and we were not disappointed. This restaurant is very much in demand and therefore reservation is a must. After a mix up with our taxi we got to the restaurant 20 minutes late to find our table had been given away. We were to,d to have a drink at the bar whilst he hostess tried to sort something out. After 40minutes of being at the bar myself and my husband were just about ready to leave when the lights dimmed and the floor show began.......WOW.......fantastic entertainment from ladies balancing trays with candles on their heads to belly dancers to a live band. This was our last night in Marrakech and we were so glad we did not leave in terms of entertainment we did not find better.

We eventually managed to get a table and the food was good with generous portions but if I'm honest I had better food elsewhere in Marrakech, the entertainment really is the attraction of this place and even if it is just for a drink that you go you do not want to miss out on this experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    162
    83
    54
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Floorshow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had per booked from UK for 12 as had been warned it is very popular.
On arrival we taken to 'our' table which was clearly not big enough for 12 adults. After trying to squeeze on a table more suited for 8 people we called over staff who guided us to the bar, whilst they sorted something out.
We were then shown to a set of table pushed together along a banquet which was much more suitable but tucked away from stage.
Ambiance of restaurant was great & Floorshow amazing, food good but difficult to see it as very dark. Also roaming Belly dancers did their thing around the tables which was very entertaining.
A must visit place whilst in Marrakech!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I like going to the Jad Mahal, Nice place, usually very crowded so you need to make a reservation before going, the food is good and the show is awesome :)
We usually go there ,before going to some clubs in Marrakech, you're garanteed to have a good time :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Moroccan dancers and great thai food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fabulous thai food in the heart of Marrakech with a great ambience. We felt more like we were in a nightclub than a restaurant. The ambience was great, but very loud to enjoy a conversation. Rather sit back and enjoy the show of Moroccan dancing and singing. Recommendations to the owners - if you want to keep this as an upmarket venue I would not encourage money to be tuck into the young girls clothing, particularly as the male singers and more mature dancers are also spectacular. Add a tip jar in the middle of each table and encourage the local diners to add their money there. A great place for the fashion and music crowd.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were recommend to try this restaurant and to our surprise was amazing.
Dinner was lovely not overly expensive but the real star of the night is the belly dancing show followed by a club-like atmosphere.
Apart from being so dark the decor is beautiful and I can guarantee you wont went to leave. A must visit when in Marrakech. ladies dress up for this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Jad Mahal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Palais Jad Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Jad Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.