We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trendy Atmosphere, but later in the night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Jad Mahal

Palais Jad Mahal
10 Rue Haroune Erracid | Hivernage, Morocco
212-24-436-984
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Trendy Atmosphere, but later in the night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall a good Resteraunt with good food but very small portions.
Belly dancers and entertainment was great and a relaxed no hurry atmosphere. Drinks and food quite expensive for Marrakech, but the night club vibe and music after 11 makes it a worthwhile visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    155
    139
    69
    45
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really beautiful building and decor but we had Terrible service and the food was below average. Much better places in marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Traditional but exciting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The restaurant has a great atmosphere, food was absolutely delicious, service was outstanding, all types of music from house to oriental, the logging was beautiful and I do recommend it 100%. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only went for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The decor seems very authentic and is very popular amongst the hip and happening crowd in Marrakech. Rightly so, the bar area had a live band that was simply amazing, playing lots of classics 80's pop music, the band was superb and the singers very good. Be sure to have money to spend though a bottle of corona was 120 Dhirams (£9.61 at our rate of exchange).
I hope you enjoy it, we certainly did,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“New Year's Eve, not the best start to 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

It was aweful ! Food was soo bad! We told the wait staff and they did nothing, we finally found the manager and he didn't care! The French people next to us also complained and at least the manager spoke to them. Midnight came and then they passed out the party favors :/ a woman in our small party of 3 is allergic to shellfish and they did nothing to acomadate her. Told her it would be ok if she ate the food! Food was all over the place bland, overcooked, still frozen, sand in my scallops and just weird (cappuccino gumbo). We were serve one glass of champaign upon arrival and nothing for new year toast. We could have bought a bottle for a min. of $300! Our New Years package was already over $300+ per person!!! Party favors were pathetic and the band was playing in the bar area for only a few people! We asked our tour guide if we would have good seating and he told us that they assured him we would be well taken care of...we sat by the open door and froze! We also only saw the entertainment for about 15 minutes! The belly dancers wenre the best part of our evening if only for a few minutes! We had nice table neighbors and were able to laugh at the situation but we will never reccomend this place. Way overpriced for bad food and poor service!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Jad Mahal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Palais Jad Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Jad Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.