We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - but take a picnic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Groombridge Place Gardens

Groombridge Place Gardens
Groombridge Hill, Groombridge, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 9QG, England
+44 1892 861444
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Groombridge Place has lovely walled gardens overlooking a 17th century moated manor house. The Enchanted Forest has something for all ages from Crusoe's World with its tree houses and rope bridge. The boardwalk also in the forest is a popular play area with its zip wire and rope swings. The giant tree swings are popular with young and old alike. Two birds of prey displays daily Tue to Sun and Bank Holiday Monday. Don't miss our famous Zedonk (half Zebra and half Donkey).
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great place - but take a picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited for the first time today - Bank Holiday Monday & great weather. Lovely scenic place to visit busy but covers large area so doesn't feel too busy (most of the time). Plenty to do and see.
But we made a big mistake we didn't bring a picnic. The cafe their looked nice and not too busy but despite this it took an hour queuing to get some very average over price food- pasta that was luke warm and a sandwich with stale bread. Not the quality I would have expected from a place like this and it did spoil our day. They need to sort this out- until they do take a picnic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    87
    48
    57
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

An enchanting day at Groombridge place,
Ok, so the sun was shining, always a bonus but this place would be stunning whatever the weather, my Husband & I & our one year old stopped by for a little walk & to grab a coffee...
We didn't want to leave so stayed until the sun went down,
Enchanting walkways & forest, endless big kid fun, creative activities, beautiful open picnic space with bouncy castle play, a wonderful farm, chic cafe & more!
We plan to return with friends soon!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Once a thriving treat now a dismal ruin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

i Visited here with family on monday 6th june 2013. I should have known something was gonna be wrong with this place when they said they ran out of adult tickets and would i like to be a child or OAP for the day even tho i paid adult prices- £9.95!!! but i thought its because they are busy so must be good....HOW WRONG WAS I! We arrived at just gone midday and headed off to food hall first- seriously understaffed, emtpy shelves, messy tables and some semi warm burgers. All cans said 'MULTIPACK ONLY- NOT FOR RESALE' and cost £1.50 each...total rip off. The food was a miserable portion of ok which satisfied a hunger pain.
We headed off to the enchanted forest as a family friend said he went 7 years ago an did was amazing.... Along the way we passed some goats and an empty field with some randomly placed attractions such a bouncy castle and surf simulator. Entering the forest- well theres a tree bridge and climbing section with skeletons- quite exciting tho no supervision for the late teens jumping on the bridge sending random toddlers flying! Then a walk to some swings and caged rabbits... we passed lots of dirty swamps a dinasaur with part of its wings missing, A wicker dragon that has seen better days., a maze made out of rocks but its only one rock high, a random large door or two that havent been very well looked after some rope wrapped around trees. a mystical pool!!!!!....... of snakes ( vines wrap around some old half statues with no water in sight) a large muddy path where everyone was slipping over. In all honesty i paid £10 to walk around a forest. Its definately not good for anyone who is too old or has leg or back problems as its quite steep in places and the rails for support (old branches) have rotted and give way if you lean on them!!!( big safety hazard! The only thing that seemed remotely exciting was a wooden trial corurse which once you start you cant get off as its all one direction only and goes on for 777 yards.
Then we come to the birds of prey showing:
Now most places do these and are very successful but after a few seconds in the man doing the display suddenly starts protesting to the audience: How many of you now people who work in slaughter houses?? do you call them murderers?...no so why do you call birds of prey murderers?! WTF? children are watching this! I totally understand why he was in chilham and was in canterbury .. because they got rid of him. The whole thing came across as one big protest- very uncomftable and very boring. the only good moment was when he spoke some interesting facts about the bald eagle and how close they came to extinction.
Sadly i felt robbed by this poor excuse for an attraction and maybe its because i wanted to be so good from what friends of mine had said when they visited 7 years ago!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deteriorating,sadly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The two nine year olds and the six year old were happy with this second visit, but we four adults found the place sadly run down and in need of maintenance. The lack of toilet and hand washing facilities in or near the forest and playground meant we had to use the woods, like many others as evidenced by tissue paper.



For the children the main attractions were the playground, the swings and the bird show. I suspect we could have most of those in better managed facilities for a similar entry price.

If you do visit bring a picnic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for some outdoor fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My children really like the enchanted forest, lots of fun. We visited on a Bank Holiday weekend so it was busy, but there was lots going on too.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groombridge Place Gardens also viewed

 
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Groombridge Place Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groombridge Place Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.