We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Top class restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria San Marco

Trattoria San Marco
Liverpool Old Road | Much Hoole, Much Hoole PR4 4RJ, England
01772613313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Much Hoole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent - Top class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been to San Marco's many times and we have never had a bad meal. The food is always top class and the staff are friendly and help full. It isn't the cheapest restaurant in this area but its certainly the best and worth the extra pennies. You will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    83
    52
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Busy Italian, average to good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a lunch meal with work colleagues and booked a table for 14. Pre ordered starters and mains and everything was handled efficiently. Although busy for a lunch time they were by no means full. I had the garlic mushrooms as a starter and a vegetarian pizza which were both good. I was a bit disappointed that there were not more vegi options on the menu. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meals. We were seated in the large open plan extension which was fresh and clean but does lack intimacy for a cosy evening meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice place but menu is a bit tired now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've had several meals here since it opened a few years ago and have never been dissapointed with the food although it isn't a anything exceptional. Both my wife and I have been expecting a menu update especially where the pizza and pasta dishes are concerned but it hasn't happened yet. As a result, we've very much reduced our regular visits.

I live close by and it's always a reliable fall back when we don't feel like travelling farther afield but it's in need of a few new dishes to choose from if you've been before.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and wine with a real trattoria atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We visited Trattoria San Marco on Friday 14th September. We arrived at 8pm to a busy car park, suggesting we were in for a good night. We. Entered the trattoria and straight away, it's obvious that a lot of efgort has been spent on this establishment. Good quality fixtures, fittings, flooring and decor and very clean. We were greeted proptly and with a smile by a waitress who asked if we had a booking (we did) and if we'd like a drink at the bar or go straight to our table. We elected to go to the table and were shown through to the big dining area with a view of the frenetic open kitchen.

The table was well presented with nice cutlery and cruet set. Typically of a trattoria, the table linen was covered with a disposable paper cloth which adds to the informality of the place. San Marco is no stuffy restaurant. The atmoshere was loud and buzzing which I really like, but bear this in mind if you are looking for a quiet meal. Tables are pitched quite tightly, but again, this is all in the trattoria style. Our drinks order was taken and served promptly. Glasses were clean and of good quality, soft drinks tasted good. We had a Prosecco aperitif. Which was nicely presented with a strawberry. Sparkling water was the ubiquitous yet always welcome San Pellegrino.

The menu is big. There are a wide variety of dishes on offer with something for everyone. Typical pizza and pasta dishes are accompanied by inviting veal, chicken, beef and seafood offerings. There is also a specials menu containing a number of alternatives to the standard menu. Our food order was taken with the waiter answering our questions about various dishes without hesitation and with good knowledge of the menu.

We took a couple of the garlic bread type dishes as a hors d'oeuvres which arrived quickly. They were hot and fresh and tasted good. We selected a Pino Grigio which was very nice. Smooth and buttery and a nice complement to our meal.

We all elected to take Tempura prawns for our starter dish. They were nicely presented, of a good individual size and the portion size (5 prawns) was good. The batter was light and crispy and not greasy. The accompanying chilli mayonnaise and presentation salad was good..

I chose pollo alla valdosta for my main course. It was served with carrots, cabbage and small roast potatoes. The portion size was large - a full chicken breast, with plentiful vegetables. The chicken was nicely cooked - served piping hot yet very moist. The sauce was creamy yet light and with good texture. Taste was very good.

I elected not to take a dessert as I was full, but the menu was varied and interesting. My wife appreciates good coffee (freshly ground each cup in our house) and ordered an espresso which she reported was very good. Praise indeed.

Overall, our meal at San Marco was excellent. Service was excellent - prompt and courteous but at no point did we feel rushed. Atmosphere great and with a bustling trattoria feel. The food was very good indeed and competitively priced. The only downside for us is that we live a long way from San Marco, so won't have the opportunity to visit more often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Book early. Good value food in excellent surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

An excellent Italian restaurant located just off a59 at Much Hoole between Preston and Southport. Very pleasant modern surroundings and furnishings complements great food choice and quality. Attentive manager who really knows what customer service means and gets the best from the staff. I especially like the fish selection and it is often possible to find dressed crab and oysters and other fish dishes, alongside the more typical pasta and rice dishes.

Very busy especially at weekends as demonstrated by full car parks. Can get a busy noisy but the lounge area is a useful size though it probably isn't a place I would choose to go to for a quiet, relaxing drink by itself. It is just too frenetic most times. Worth searching out for along with its sister restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Marco also viewed

Much Hoole, Lancashire
 

Been to Trattoria San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.