We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality Indian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Tadka

Urban Tadka
321 Mona Vale Rd, Terrey Hills, Warringah, New South Wales 2084, Australia
0299861040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Terrey Hills
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“High quality Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is becoming a northern beaches favorite. The starters were superb and the mains tasty. A pity the service is a bit all over the place, willing but not well trained, focus is clearly on the food. Can be a little pricey, but we are big fans.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“nice place , decet place but over priced and poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was there with family for dinner ...
It took them more than 15 minutes to find us a table ..
another 15 to take first orders ..
once they had taken orders they cam back 3 times saying one thing or the other in not available .. then kept asking should we bring mains and it went for 15 min and then we got our mains ..
Desserts once again they took 15 minutes to take order and asked 3 times , told us 2 things out of 3 which we chose them from their menu was not available ....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
2,707 helpful votes 2,707 helpful votes
“Best Indian !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We dined at Urban Tadka with a group of friends last Saturday night. All of them had been here previously except for us & they had highly recommended this Indian restaurant which specialises in North Indian, Tandoori and Mughlai dishes.

For entrees the table shared the Urban tadka mixed sampler which consisted of samosa, pakora, murgh tikka & lakhnawi seekh mixed plate which were absolutely delicious. This is a "must" have IMO, as everything on the platter was so tasty.

Hubby & I shared two main dishes whilst the other members of the table opted for some very hot vindaloo dishes which had the table dripping !

Our mains Mani pur ke garlic chilli Jhinga masala which consisted of shelled prawns cooked with fresh garlic and chillies & the Chandigarh se gosht tariwala lamb was incredibily tasty & not too hot.

The restaurant is large however regardless of the reviews we didn't have any problems with the noise. We were seated closer to the door & bar which may have been a better table regarding noise level.

We did have trouble finding the restaurant due to the entrance being located at the back of 321 Mona Vale Road which is very close to the Terry Hills Tavern. There is ample space for parking & easy access.

Overall - The Urban Tadka Restaurant has just been nominated for a chef hat's award which basically says it all.. We loved the Indian food & will be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicoiussssss! Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

On our visit to Sydney last month 10 of us booked on Saturday to celebrate my wife's birthday. All of our friends were impressed with the quality of the dishes(we ordered almost the whole menu - it certainly seemed like it).

As soon as we entered we were greeted warmly with a professional approach. Ushered to our table and the waitperson served our drinks. We had the entrees( try the Tandoori fish - cant remember the name), Curries , variety of Naans and then the desserts. Everything was a hit with all of us. Everything was presented well. Even though we were packed full some of us could not resist the wonderful dessert platter.

What a great evening. Will recommend no doubt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“An authentic Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were a party of 4 who booked in advance and all of us agreed that the meal was the best Indian cuisine that any of us had eaten for many years. We ate there on a Saturday night and expected the restaurant to be crowded and it was, this only added to the ambience as a significant number of guests were dressed in traditional Indian dress and clearly had very strong links to the Indian sub continent. There was a general level of noise in the restaurant caused by various diners talking amongst themselves, but again this did not detract us from having an enjoyable evening.
The Indian food was really first class, with fairly long delays between dishes indicating that at least some of the food was only prepared after we had ordered. Because the restaurant was probably full, service was a little slow and it was clear that some waiters were becoming a little stressed
When I see the locals eating in a restaurant that to me is a sign of a good restaurant ,and as I mentioned above, there were large numbers in this restaurant.
We all thought that overall the prices charged were fairly reasonable and on return to Sydney we would probably eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Tadka also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Terrey Hills, Warringah
 

Been to Urban Tadka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Tadka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.