We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food! Great location! Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Tadka

Urban Tadka
321 Mona Vale Rd, Terrey Hills, Warringah, New South Wales 2084, Australia
0299861040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 restaurants in Terrey Hills
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Amazing food! Great location! Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant. Went there on the weekend with my grandparents and really enjoyed the food and service. We even got a complimentary salad and serving of Dhal. Great location hidden of the main road. Will definitely go back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    21
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good buy noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food original and fresh ideas if you like Indian food
Comes at a price, not the most generous serves but generally high standard of cooking and food. Noisy place if there are any functions in the function rooms best go somewhere else if you want to have any converstaion at your table

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First visit to this restaurant last night. Will definately be going back there and telling all our friends to go. The food was spectacular, service was excellent, all in a wonderful setting.

The entrees were large servings that would have served 4 people. Had the "Malai Murgh Ke Tukne" and "Murgh ke tikke karae for entrees, these were possibly the best Indian entrees I have ever had. We were so full after gobbling this down we had to ask the staff to hold off on our main meals for a while. They did this without a problem and we then enjoyed Pork Vindaloo and Jallandhar se balti gosht. Also fantastic. Price was good however wines were a little expensive so BYO.

They also do takeaway, so I am sure that we will use this service as well as we are quite close to the restaurant. Cannot believe that they have been there for 2 years and this is the first time we went, wish we knew about this little gem earlier.
Go to this restaurant you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Urban Tadka a hidden Jewel in suburbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

As a regular visitor to Urban Tadka I can honestly say this is a fabulous Indian Restaurant. Certainly one of the better Indian Restaurants I have been to. Large menu with excellent choices and always very yummy! Great atmosphere in a modern surround. Sometimes a little noisy but that doesn't bother me when the food is so good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulously authentic indian dining in the suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am writing this after our 3rd visit. All of which have been outstanding. The service is attentive in this beautifully decorated space which offers a lovely atmosphere whether there are only a few people or when it's full. They have a bar area which is a great place to wait for the rest of your party - much cooler than 2 loners sitting at a table for 10!!
Try the amazing fish entree (can't remember its name!) but for a large group the banquets are the way to go with so many different dishes without having to interrupt the conversation to choose :-)
Urban Tadka is very easy to find being right on the nursery stretch of Mona Vale Rd just between Forest Way and the Terry Hills turn off. We will definitely make this one of our local favourites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Tadka also viewed

Terrey Hills, Warringah
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Urban Tadka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Tadka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.