We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would never recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Federal Highway, Sutton, New South Wales 2602 , Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sutton
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“would never recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was supposed to be 1 king bed with another room with a single bed. On arrival went into the room to discover 5 single beds plus someone''s bag on the bed and pjs under the pillow. Reception couldn't understand why we where annoyed, needless to say we didn't stay there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    42
    17
    15
See reviews for
46
36
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a family, in a double double room. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy. The bathroom while clean and acceptable, looked a little dated. That said, we would definitely stay here again. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Canberra City. Its very quiet and peaceful.

A complementary continental breakfast was included. We upgraded to a hot breakfast for a very modest cost. Actually a hot breakfast cost less than a fast food takeaway.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

clean & tidy basic hotel room.
No room service.
Restaurant is reasonably priced.
parking not near room.
Would not pay full price, we got special through wotif.
Staff were helpful and nice.
would not call it a resort or is it 4 star,

Room Tip: need own transport, on the border of nsw/acr
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The distance and accessibility to the city was good for us, we do not like to stay in the centre of town. and it was only 10-15 mins.
I am not one to complain, but do point out the following on the condition of the hotel:
The overall hotel is terribly dated, there really needs to be some funds poured into it to bring it up to 2014. I am sure it was “resort-like” in the 80s and 90s but now… run down.
The lack of mobile service, then charging such exorbitant prices to access Wi-Fi is a joke. It is Free Wi-Fi usually these days. I did not want to have to venture down to the Lobby to research places to visit and eat for 30mins free.
The small box TV’s are horrible to watch and the reception, especially the cable Nickelodeon channel was horrible.
The Stained carpets and the leaking shower (around the toilet base, and into the kitchen in the adjoining room), the blind screws were hanging by a thread out of the wall, the scuffed walls and the ill-fitting bedding were a real downside to our stay. It felt old and unkempt. i will not stay here again until a major renovation takes place.

Room Tip: rear family room nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beresfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The weather in the ACT was windy wet and and cold over the whole weekend, just kept getting colder, Thank goodness the room was nice and warm when we arrived, reverse cycle air conditioners have their use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a Mystery Booking with this place through Wotif but my plans changed and I wanted to switch to the week before but their policy was no changes so I lost my money. I know they have policies but I used to enjoy going there when it was Rydges and you'd think that Ibis would be encouraging folk to stay there. I'll find somewhere else next time I'm down in the ACT

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Bucko1957,

Thanks for the post. Due to the restrictions around this deal and the discount provided through Wotif.com for this package we are unable to make adjustments. The deal you booked is a no change no cancellation rate. We do have other deals that are unrestricted for you to book so you can change your plans if need be. I apologise that this caused you some inconvenience.

Thanks again for your comments. I hope you decide to give us a try in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton hotels

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Address: 999 Federal Highway, Sutton, New South Wales 2602 , Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.