We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY PLACE TO BE.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Amani Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Amani Beach to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Amani Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amani Gomvu Area | Kigamboni, Temeke, Kutani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“LOVELY PLACE TO BE.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was an experience when we went to this place as we never knew that amani beach exists at south beach area , the welcome was out of this world with fresh juice and staff no words for it all of the time around to make us comfortable ,food and rooms were really lovely and the surroundings of the hotel tranquil and peaceful . A special word of appreciation for the manager he made us feel like a very important client thanks to all the loving and caring staff.We will definitely visit this place again and many more visits for the future days with our friends.

Room Tip: Room number 4 has the best view towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Veronica


Good day, Jambo from protea Hotel Amani Beach. I am really glad to hear that you had a fantastic time at our hotel. Our STAFF is indeed our strength and Jimmy, is a fantastic manager. I will share your feedback with our TEAM right away! We look forward to host you again at the Protea Hotel Amani Beach, your piece of heaven in Dar es Salaam.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels Dar es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    30
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
63
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here and really enjoyed it. If you want to get away from the city without the slog of getting to Zanzibar, and if you value tranquility and unspoilt beaches, this is the place to come to. Great value too for the quality of the resort- the midweek rate of 150 US for a double with breakfast was a good deal. The setting is idyllic , the rooms are massive and each guest has their own cottage most of which look out over the sea. Yes, food service a bit slow and drinks pricey but I guess you are paying for the location and the small size of the resort. I'd certainly stay here again- and for longer if I could.

Room Tip: Ask for one with direct views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and service, the midweek rates are great deals indeed. We look forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Amani Beach.


Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels Dsm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is one of the best hideaways anyone can find within a 45 mins drive from Dar! The location is peaceful ad tranquil, the rooms huge and expansive giving guests a sense of space, one can hear the lapping waves of the ocean and above all, guests can have the option of beach and pool! The beach is uncrowded giving guests their much needed privacy and space and it is a great place for people wanting a getaway from the bustling life in the city and avoiding crowded beaches elsewhere.

The food is great too, but having such a heavenly view and rejuvenating experience, it becomes less important in a way.

The staff are friendly and courteous and the Resident Manager will ensure that you are well looked after whilst on your stay here.

Overall, I love this hideaway and without doubt I know I will always come back to this special place and will strongly recommend to everyone I know and also to people who are looking for a peaceful alternate to crowded beaches in other locations.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms have very good and unobstructive views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review the property.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate your positive comments about the property, service and STAFF. I will share your feedback with our TEAM, they will be happy to learn that their efforts have been appreciated. This will also help to keep them motivated.

We look forward to host you again soon, I remain,

Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
Protea Hotels Dsm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel on a magical beach. The rooms are huge, the bed comfortable, the bathrooms massive and the flowers and garden exquisite with lovely flowers, butterflies and monkeys! . The welcome is charming and the staff friendly and warm. So why only three stars you ask? Well.. the food needs work. Quite a lot of work. Its not acceptable in a hotel of this quality to have to ask you at 5pm what you want to eat for dinner as it takes that long to sort and prepare and meal and to take one and a half hours to prepare a sandwich for lunch. It aspires to european/ international levels of hospitality but fails on the food. Dinner was lovely but really - I would have liked to order when i wanted to eat not hours before hand .And the coffee? come on - you have olive oil on the tables - get some good coffee!.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the advance order taking procedure has spoiled your otherwise perfect stay.

One of the challenges of operating such a small hotel in a remote area is that it is quite difficult to deliver food orders as fast as we would in our city hotels. Despite the size of the property and the fact that we are mostly busy during weekends only, we still offer a good variety of dishes on our menu. while we stock all required ingredients, we can't store core ingredients in our daily fridges and the said items need to be thawed the right away to ensure right quality and taste, which takes time. The procedure of taking orders well in advance is in place to ensure that GUESTS are served their meals right on time to their satisfaction. I do agree that this shouldn't be the case for sandwiches and snacks, we must deliver them within 30 minutes. I will definitely look into this and do the needful to ensure timely delivery of such food orders. We will also look into the coffee options and upgrade as possible.

Please accept my sincere apologies, as promised we will work on your feedback. we look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
Protea Hotels Dsm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I spent 2 nights at the Protea Hotel Amani Beach in two cottages. The rooms are very, I repeat very, spacious and so are the bathrooms. There are no telephones or televisions in the rooms which we found relaxing and so we could spend time reading and beach combing. A change from the 60-65 hrs a week job. An hour before the lunch and dinner time, the kitchen staff would come with the menu and take our orders for the meals which was then served very promptly at the time agreed upon. We, as vegetarians often have a rough/tough time eating out in Europe, but at the Protea Hotel, the cook sensed our desires and and went beyond the menu to dish out some excellent Swahili veggie meals for us. We found the staff to be very dedicated and forthcoming.We could use the hotel web-stick for the online check-in and the get the air tickets printed at the reception. Visitors should know that the hotels supplies electricity from evenings till late mornings but not during the day. During our stay the rooms were clean and so was the pool and the beach with beach crabs sprinting up and down in their habitat. The monkeys kept us company in the mornings with their inquisitive gestures hoping to get some share of our breakfast but didn't really bother or pester us. They would disappear as soon as the hotel canines turned up. The hotel is relatively small and you will not find guests stampeding around the pool or during breakfast. I understand that the hotel is under new management since Nov 2011 and in the process of being renovated and refurbishing.The showers need new shower-heads and the mosquitoes nets outside the bathroom windows need repairs. As there is no electricity during the day,I would wish the hotel would provide the rooms with thermo-flasks where the guests could store some hot water for the afternoon tea. The swimming pool is clean but the pool ladders need repair.Amani means peace......so is the place....tranquil. People looking for "booze party" like in Mallorca will be disappointed....we were not.

Room Tip: All cottages have some sea view with sit out verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. It was an absolute pleasure to host you at our hotel, thanks a lot for sharing your candid review on trip advisor. Thank you for your suggestion regarding keeping a hot water thermos in the room for afternoon coffee/tea. We serve high tea at 4 PM, hence didn't consider doing the same before. But we will definitely consider your suggestion and do the needful. We have changed some of the showers and fittings, will check all bathrooms again and change/upgrade where required. The pool ladder will be replaced this week, extremely sorry about any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to host you again soon, I remain,

Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
Protea Hotels Dsm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent one night at Amani Beach Hotel and definitely will be back as soon as possible. A beautiful situated hotel, huge rooms with great views, space, space and more space in the rooms. Beautiful beach where you can spend time exploring the pools and rocks during low tide. Lovely swimmingpool so to say on the beach and shaded spots for babies and small children to play in the sand. The pool itself also have sufficient stair space for toddlers to play in. Staff was attentive and helpful, and the food was fantastic. Management was on top of everything. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear RThompson

Good day, Jambo from Protea hotel Amani Beach. I am delighted to learn that you had a fantastic time with your family at our hotel. We have been continuously upgrading our facilities and introducing more activities to keep our GUESTS occupied. Hope you had a chance to try the kites, mountain bikes etc.

We look forward to host you again, I remain,

Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels Dar es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i came to know about this place from a friend who visited this facility before they praised a lot about this place and truly it was an amazing experience . Rooms were quiet big enough and cleanliness up to the mark as compared to other hotels in dar i have stayed and other thing is this now it is a part of protea hotels and these people know how to take care of there clients and there needs . We were pampered a lot by the manager he relay took care of all the guests in house he took personal interest in going to every guests and make them feel satisfied . We really enjoyed a lot and it was great food.great service,words are very less for this facility come and enjoy the experience.
p.s.:please put more lighting around the beach and the cottage areas for the guests to have a small stroll in the evening.

Room Tip: rooms are very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Erwin

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. It makes me really glad to hear that you had an excellent time at our hotel. We bought the hotel in December and have been continuously upgrading the facilities and investing in the property. Our Resident Manager is a fantastic person and I am happy learn that he has looked after you and your family well.

Thanks for your feedback regarding lighting, we have already added more lights. we look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
Protea Hotels Dar es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
18.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Courtyard
Protea Hotel Courtyard
#4 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
24.3 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#9 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
19.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar Es Salaam
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar Es S...
#17 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
11.4 mi away
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es ...
#31 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ras Mbisi Lodge
Ras Mbisi Lodge
#5 of 7 in Mafia Island
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Amani Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Amani Beach

Address: Amani Gomvu Area | Kigamboni, Temeke, Kutani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Amani Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani means “peace” in Kiswahili, and that’s exactly what you’ll find at Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Just 33km south of the bustling city of Dar es Salaam, down a sandy road to the ocean, hides our small African paradise and a total escape from the outside world. Set amongst 80 acres of beautiful tropical gardens, each of our 10 luxury beach bungalows overlooks the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. They combine the opulence of Zanzibar sultans with African craftsmanship and charm. Around the bungalows the grounds are alive with wildlife and, on the unspoiled white sands of our secluded beach; turtles have chosen to make their home. We have two dining areas; one that serves breakfast and lunch, whilst our Main Restaurant provides a much more romantic and atmospheric setting for the evening meal. Our food draws its influences from the exotic flavours of East African cooking as well as from the simple fresh flavours of the Mediterranean. The open-sided makuti thatch beach bar provides the ideal outdoor seating area to enjoy the refreshing coastal breeze without the glare of the African sun. Whether you’re looking for total relaxation, a romantic holiday, adventure or simply to experience unspoilt nature, you’ll find it here and more. Welcome to an unforgettable experience, welcome to Amani Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Protea Hotel Amani Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amani Beach
Protea Hotel Amani Beach Kutani, Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Amani Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.