We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate wind-down location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Save
You added Ras Kutani to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The ultimate wind-down location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I can't say enough about RK that would explain how good I thought this was.
We spent 5 nights here - and I was worried about spending so long in a location without aircon and with 'nothing to entertain me'. How wrong could I be!
We stayed in suite 3. The accomodation was fantastic. Huge - and I mean huge - bed. Big bedroom....massive bathroom....outdoor breakfast terrace....leading to huge outdoor (but covered) day bed....leading to a private sunbathing area....beside a private plunge pool. All totally isolated from either the hotel or the other cottages.
With only 15 cottages and suites, even if it was full it would be quiet. (Particularly since there are restrictions on children).
There's nothing to do of course.....no tv...no aircon...no pool table....no music...in face there's only a couple of hours of power to the electricity sockets each day! So, all we could do was nothing!
Just eat - the food was fantastic.
Drink.....nice cocktails!
Lounge....our private area was lovely....the beach was fantatstic....pretty much all our own...the pool area was very comfortable too.
Wander - to the local villages - phenomenally interesting. Hard to believe that they'll interupt school lessons so you can go and see what they are learning in school! And theres a lot of pride over the new local health centre...who'd have thought this would constitute "sight-seeing". But how incredibly interesting! (It is really important to try to understand how other people, in different cultures, live).
In shor, I'm not sure where our 5 nights went, and I seriously wish it had been longer!.
Tips? If you want to see local life - get out! In fact drive to the hotel instead of flying. Its much cheaper and you get to see life as you travel. the flight is expensive and only 10 minutes....but you miss so much.
The food is very much seafood. I'm not a huge seafood fan, but I did love this. Have to admit 5 nights was slightly too much on the fish front though and I was desperate for a burger when I got back to Dar! (They did say you only had to ask if you weren't wanting their what they offered).
The resort is owned by Selous Safari company - and they are a fantastic company - we travelled to their camps in Selous and Ruaha 5 years ago - and the quality of RK matched our expectation.
It was very popular with honeymoon couples though...and it therefore made me feel quite old!
From now on - no modern a/c hotel for me...this probably cost more....but it was worth it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
140
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent two nights here after a week in Ruaha. Ras Kutani is the perfect place to relax. The rooms are very nicely decorated, the location is fantastic and the food and service are great! The staff run the extra mile for you.
On the way back our aircraft did not arrive at the expected time and the manager called the airline (more or less everyone of them!) and finally they sent out an aircraft. We made it to Dar just in time to board our BA flight.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Our second stay with Ras Kutani and we couldn't be more pleased! The staff bent over backwards to pamper us, no request was too big, and we enjoyed a beautiful candlelit dinner on the beach our final evening there. Food was excellent as usual. We stayed in one of the hilltop suites this time and I would recommend that optional, especially for those looking for a serene, private and romantic setting. Very very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We went with our two teenage kids. We took two bungalows by the sea.

I loved the Ras Kutani for the following:
The beach, the bungalows (complete with hammocks and reading areas on the front porch), the kind and friendly staff, the lovely warm water and the beautiful beach beds - which are heavenly with rolled screens over the top so you don't get burned but bronze while you gaze out at the azure sea.
I also appreciated its sense of ecology - I liked that the electricity would switch off at night (but they were considerate to have a separate junction so the fans did not switch off)

It feels intimate and real. I have traveled the world over and lived in West Africa - this beach is pure, clean, (except for seaweed after storms which you cannot help) but the water is warm, strong enough to boogie board and play in - yet a little further out and you can swim genteelly. They also have a sunken shipwreck over which you can snorkel and all equipment is provided.

I would recommend the menu improve a little. It serves only fish (which I am okay with) but I would have loved just grilled or poached fish - the other variations (stews and breaded) felt a little too rustic. It is a set menu at dinner or a buffet at lunch.

The mosquitoes were a pest at night and I am not sure what one can do but nets for both our children and ourselves did seem to fill up at night despite a noxious spray on the nets... Other resorts seem to have more success.

Liked the slow easy pace of life and their lovely little boutique (which carries products whose profits go to local women and children. The pool was also great but the Ras Khutan walk was pretty dull - even with the well thought-out brochure describing various trees along the way.

Other sad note was that along the seafront the practice of dynamiting the water has begun which kills all fish within its range but only 60% are used. Not much can be done apparently but it would be great to add tourist clout to dissuade the local fisherman from this practice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights at Ras Kutani in one of their Suites on our honeymoon and I can only say it was excellent, the food, service, management and room were fantastic. Sarah and Russell were great hosts, and the bar prices were far cheaper than in Zanzibar.

Its worth staying in the suiteand saving your money at the end of your trip for it, you will not be dissappointed a 180 degree view of the Ocean, monkeys leaping in the trees in front of your room, the whole stay was tremendous. The attention to detail is superb...you even fly in to their own airstrip and get take in by boat to the lodge.

Some great snorkelling by the wreck off the beach as well

My advice, dont go to Zanzibar go here instead, you wont regret it, we will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

I have just returned from a 5night stay at Ras Kutani. We travelled in a family group of 7 and enjoyed our stay at Ras Kutani very much. We loved our banda's which were situated next to the lovely lagoon and were facing sea as well. It is a lovely and quiet place. You don't need any shoes to wear and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Lot's of honeymooners. Sarah and Russell are very kind and attentive hosts. They helped us out with medicines when needed and arranged little extra's when requested. There is a happy feeling as all staff members seem to work there with great pleasure. The food is fantastic and costs of drinks reasonable. The beach is wonderful for a long walk and surf boarders can enjoy the rolling waves. Beutiful sunrises here!We hope to come back one day.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed at Ras Kutani for 6 nights after a week on safari. The drive from Dar airport took less than 2 hours, including a fascinating short ferry trip. We were greeted with great warmth and hospitality by the charming Emil, which set the tone for the friendliness we encountered from all the staff during our stay. The bandas are perfect for the setting, open to the elements and made of natural materials, and are kept spotlessly clean. No aircon is required as there is generally a cooling on shore breeze. The food was of excellent quality and served in quantities to satisfy the largest appetite. Drinks were reasonable. Activities are limited to a nature walk around the lagoon, snorkelling or body-boarding, and those seeking nightlife should look elsewhere. Ras Kutani is an ideal place to unwind and enjoy the natural beauty of the surroundings, cossetted by the delightful staff. Managers Sarah and Russell are delightful hosts and couldn't be more attentive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Amani Beach
24.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#9 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Courtyard
Protea Hotel Courtyard
#4 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
20.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
20.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#8 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Kutani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.