We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious relaxation in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Save
You added Ras Kutani to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Luxurious relaxation in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed at Ras Kutani for 6 nights after a week on safari. The drive from Dar airport took less than 2 hours, including a fascinating short ferry trip. We were greeted with great warmth and hospitality by the charming Emil, which set the tone for the friendliness we encountered from all the staff during our stay. The bandas are perfect for the setting, open to the elements and made of natural materials, and are kept spotlessly clean. No aircon is required as there is generally a cooling on shore breeze. The food was of excellent quality and served in quantities to satisfy the largest appetite. Drinks were reasonable. Activities are limited to a nature walk around the lagoon, snorkelling or body-boarding, and those seeking nightlife should look elsewhere. Ras Kutani is an ideal place to unwind and enjoy the natural beauty of the surroundings, cossetted by the delightful staff. Managers Sarah and Russell are delightful hosts and couldn't be more attentive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We spent 6 nights at Ras Kutani following 8 days on safari. We found it to be excellent in every way.
The short hop by plane from Dar is very quick and links very well with long haul flights to Europe.
The rooms are very large and serviced to a high standard. The food was top rate especially given the small number of guests.
Above all the staff and management make the holiday with a very efficient and but unobtrusive approach. Everyone was very friendly.
The beach is clean and runs for about 2 km to a headland which is a pleasant and safe walk. The sea has a reasonable swell on it so might not be suitable for poor swimmers.
We were a bit worried about there being no a/c but this posed no problem as there is an offshore breaze.
Really nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We spent the last few days of our honeymoon here and loved every minute of it. We stayed in one of the suites which had amazing views of the sea and it's own private plunge pool. the food was absolutely amazing, fantastic cocktails and the service was first class. Very chilled out.. It felt like a safari lodge by the sea with great decor.. There is also a resident beauty therapist who is great and does massage etc at really reasonable prices.

All in all we loved this place, it's a real find and would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Really relaxing friendly resort with excellent food and accomodation. Local staff were unobtrusive yet the service was first class. Some sort of fan would have been nice at times. Take your insect spray.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We arrived here after an amazing safari and travelled by a plane for 2 and landed on the hotels own air strip where we were whisked by car to the private lake that we were then rowed across to the landing and reception deck. It was a very welcoming arrival and certainly felt kicked back and chilled out. Other holiday makers were barely visible, making it feel truly exclusive.

We stayed in the exclusive suite No 1, set aside from all the other bungalows up in the hillside - views amazing, own plunge pool and terrace area - lovely airy room and bathroom; really liked the straw hats and beach bags in the room to use during your stay.

Food was excellent, hosts of the hotel were charming, we stayed over christmas and a lovely effort was made on Christmas day with a large communal dining table prepared for the lunch.
I was proposed to on Christmas Eve, overlooking the ocean on our private terrace and it was the most divine moment of my life to date!

We had 1 shocker though, not the hotels fault, and i believe they have now removed the activity from its list - I wanted to ride horses along the beach, so we booked through the recommended local stables and were walked to the nearby village by a guide from the hotel. Once there we were met by a scary looking german lady (owner of the stables) she got us kitted out and we set on our way. We trotted gently through the village waving at local kids then as soon as our horses hit the beach they bolted - My partner was thrown first and broke his foot; i was thrown second and hit my head/got concussed/cant recall this part, only from being told! The lady from the stables who was leading us on the trek didnt stop to see if we were ok; just went off to retrieve the bolted horses.
My limping fiance and a confused me walked 45 mins back to our resort (I didn't know who he was, or where we were)! The hotel, I am told were brilliant and checked on us regularly till i regained my memory, some 10 hours later!
Unbelievably, the stable lady called the hotel and said; " Your guests haven't paid for the ride yet"! we did pay, just so we could possibly claim later; we we havent done, it turns out she is uninsured - so avoid at all costs. We flew out to the final part of our trip in and spent a week rehabilitating in Zanzibar; him on crutches and me confused and bruised!
Definitely recommend the hotel though; its a true gem of a place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This place must be the best place to unwind close to dar. The beach is amazing with awesome snorkeling just off the beach. They set up a little beach hide out with a flag for all the couples on the beach to lounge in. In the morning you get waken up with amazing coffee and fresh cookies. The Houses are secluded and the bed opens up onto a verandah with seating and twin hangmats. The food is amazing and the wine reasonably priced. Really perfect for couples! As the walkways are also sand yoiu never need to wear shoes!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

There is simply nothing bad to say about Ras Kutani. From the moment of our arrival, nothing was too much trouble for the wonderfully friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are stunning - beautifully designed, using fantastic materials throughout, and furnished with real elegance. I'd recommend asking for one of the lagoon and sea view rooms (rooms 5 to 9) which are undoubtedly the most peaceful, and the best location. The rooms are far enough apart to feel incredibly private, and set amidst the jungle foliage teeming with monkeys, you really do have the best of both worlds - lush greenery with perfectly white sandy beaches and clear blue waters just a stroll away.

The food during our 3 night stay was undoubtedly the best overall that we had during a two-week trip to Tanzania. Fantastic breakfasts of fruit, cereal and yogurt (plus cooked breakfasts for the boys!), buffet style 3-course lunch and a 3-course dinner every night which would not have been out of place in a decent London restaurant. They really take care over the food, here, and it pays off.

All the communal areas are equally well-designed and furnished and even if the hotel is full up (as it was the weekend we were there) you never feel any sense of other people encroaching on your space. I simply couldn't recommend Ras Kutani more heartily.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Amani Beach
24.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#9 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Courtyard
Protea Hotel Courtyard
#4 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
20.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
20.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#8 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Kutani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.